Leave a little of yourself on our farm with creative projects (building, sculptures, art work, etc), Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2020

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a passion for regenerative agriculture & biodynamics.
    I love passing on my experiences from managing landscape & beef cattle grazing.

    My main tools are rest, biodynamic soil activator, & livestock (beef cattle). I have my own vegetable garden & fruit trees. I love growing trees on my landscape, both native & introduced.

    The farm is 141 hectares & has a running creek on one boundary. I love doing creative things....wood, stone, metal.

    I love going to music festivals, & dancing.
    I am involved locally with our community garden & mens shed & also with a local food network cooperative .
    I often go to the beach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The opportunity to learn many things about biodynamic farming/gardening, get to know locals through our community garden (2.5 km away in town). Learn low stress stock handling.

    Intensive/high density grazing. Landscape regeneration using livestock. Grow & process your own meats & vegetables.

  • Help

    Help

    Have hosted volunteers since 2007, & like visitors to fit in with what ever projects are on the go at the time. I love giving visitors the opportunity to leave a little of themselves in the landscape by allowing them to do creative projects (building, sculptures, art work, etc).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House / cottage

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kilkivan is 2.5 km away. Rainbow Beach 2 hours by car. Gympie 1 hour. Noosa 2 hours. We now have a 87 km rail trail from Kilkivan to Kingaroy . I am a keen cyclist (mountain bike & recumbent trike). Mudlo National Park is a few kms up the road.
    Kinbombi falls is a half hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 521844736331