Come and help with some building projects around our small farm in Inderøy, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would like to welcome you to Venåsen, a small farm located in the forest in the heart of Norway. The history of our farm goes back to the 15th century. Most of its history it has been run as a cotter´s farm. We who live here now are Geir Arne, Ane, Yalmar (the dog) and Laffen (the cat). We also have frequent visits from local wildlife such as deer, moose, squirrels and a varied population of wild birds. Venåsen is situated on the Inderøy peninsula with a mix of farmland, forest and lakes and the sea is never far away.

    Our goal is to live sustainably off our farm and surrounding nature. We work towards self-sustainability and get a lot of joy through acquiring different knowledge, skills and practises to achieve this. Our projects also aim to connect people to nature in a deeper sense and create understanding of our role in the ecosystems.

    We have a kitchen garden and a greenhouse were we grow organic vegetables. We have built a combined greenhouse and hen house using mostly salvaged and second hand materials. The greenhouse was finished last year and we look forward to finishing the hen house this year. We believe in repurposing, mending and building things for ourselves.

    We forage a lot of wild plants, seaweed and mushrooms and use them in our cooking. We want you to come and experience foraging. We can teach you about the plants and how to do it sustainably and safely.

    We love animals and nature, and these are the top priority in our home, oh yes, and home brewed beer :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy making new aqcuaitances, cultural exchange and also exchanging experience and knowledge with others.

  • Help

    Help

    2020 will be a special year for us as we are in the process of starting up new projects and taking our self-sufficient lifestyle further. We would love someone with some carpenter experience to help us with our personal building projects. First of all we will finish the interior of our hen house so we can get some chickens in springtime. The interior will be done after organic standards for rearing chickens (and a bit better than that).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate basement apartment with own kitchen and bathroom. Room for two persons. No smoking in home.
    We are flexible when it comes to cooking and meal sharing, but it would probably be the best match for us if you have some experience/ interest in cooking as we expect everyone to join in cooking meals and cleaning up. We can agree on whether we cook together, take turns or cook separately. The meals we do not cook together you can cook in the kitchen of your apartment. All basic ingredients are provided, most of them organic. We eat vegetables, egg, fish and meat, but also eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan dishes. We eat local products from fishers (when we can't catch anything ourselves), farmers or hunters we know.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want you to experience the Norwegian countryside and nature while you are visiting, and we are happy to give you a lot of suggestions for hikes and things to do. We also have a kayak and a motor boat that we like to go fishing from.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 519198748268