Beekeeping (apiary) and vegetable garden in the Weser Uplands, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    88

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple, Tini and Olli and strive for living in harmony with nature and the seasons. We try to make as much as possible on our own. Also, we run a semi- professional honey farm and have a self-supporter vegetable garden.
    We grow our vegetables in our garden and on nearby meadow of 400 & 800 sqm.
    Our fruits and vegetables are being 100% biologically cultivated and further processed according to the lunar calendar.
    We pay attention to maintain a natural and bee-friendly work ethic regarding our bee-keeping.
    The two of us live togetherin the middle of a village. Despite urban surroundings, we make use of every space and have created our own green oasis.
    The majority of our bees are situated nearby at 3 different places. Close to the house are a couple of bee colonies in order to breed (queen-) offspring.
    We follow a strict vegan diet and don’t tolerate any meat or alcohol consumption.
    We take care for 3 bunnies, 2 guinnea- pigs, 1 cat and 40 bee hives.

    Requirements:
    Our needs are for people with either knowledge of, or interest in, gardening, vegetable/ fruit growing and beekeeping.
    Beekeeper and beginners preferred, minimum age 25.

    Sustainability:
    We do try to live as eco friendly as we can and request that people respect this by not wasting food, water and electricity.

    Yearly work schedule:
    April: Preparing the vegetable beds, preparing frames for hives, painting hives, weeding, planting potatoes, casting bee-wax candles
    May: Swarm control, building starter hives, regular beekeeping tasks, Garden: Planting a lot of diff. vegetable plants, planting 50 tomato and 30 bell-pepper plants
    June: Honey harvest, honey stirring, building starter hives, queen breeding, traveling with hives, honey canning, Garden: weeding, watering, harvesting,
    July: Honey harvest, queen breeding, Garden: Cherry and berry harvest, watering, care & maintenance of the garden
    August: Honey harvest, honey stirring, honey canning, Garden: Vegetable harvesting and processing, black- and elderberry harvest
    September: Feed the bees and fight against varroa mite, preparing the hives winter ready, honey canning, casting bee-wax candles, Garden: harvesting and processing, taking care of the first apples, cleaning the greenhouse and planting the winter crops
    October: Feed the bees and fight against varroa mite PART II, casting bee-wax candles, canning honey, Garden: Apple harvest & processing, cleaning the garden beds

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn a lot about apiculture / beekeeping, vegetable gardening and preserving homegrown fruits and vegetables. We both speak English and Tini speaks Swedisch. We would love to help you to improve your German.
    Hopefully volunteers will come here because they want to join in our various projects and become involved, this is not a cheap way to have a holiday.
    We do try to live as eco friendly as we can and request that people respect this by not wasting food, water and electricity.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening ( tend the garden, watering, plant, harvesting, conserving)
    Maintenance work, painting, woodwork, fencing
    Apiculture / Beekeeping (Swarm control, Queen breeding, build mini colonies, honey harvest, honey canning)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, Englisch, Schwedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room in our house with own shower/ bathroom & Wifi. The food will be vegan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rural landscape in a small village.
    Next bigger town: Hamelin 10km; Hanover 35km
    We are hard workers with a lot of fun and happiness. Minimum staying time 2 weeks.
    Your help is needed especially from Wednesdays to Sundays, about 5 hours a day.
    The first day off will normally be after the first 5 days of work.
    Beekeeper and beginners preferred, minimum age 25.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 517813627922