Art related and goat farming help wanted in Bazsi, Hungary.

Country

Hungary

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    321

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome Volunteers! We are léooking for some hekping hand in our family farm. First of all i want you to know that nowadays we have mostly hard jobs around the farm (clean the dung from the barn and collect bales) and so, so pleas only than text me if you think you can work enugh hard. Our family has four members, parents, me, my girlfriend and my brother. We have more than 100 animals, goats, pigs, ducks etc.... there are always many things to do! Our land was a stone mine around 30 years ago. Before we moved there it was a place with lots of trash everywhere but now it is a beautiful oasis with a lake. It's in the middle of the forest so it's totally surrounded by nature.
    We make cheese products and sell it to locals and at an organic market. Other than that we also have seasonable fruits and vegetables depending what nature and the garden has to offer at the moment ( for example chestnuts in autumn, different berries, walnut, raspberry, apple... ). We have a big garden as well, huge forests and fields where we go out with the goats and they can eat their delicious grass happily. I'm also into woodwork with my girlfrien we make wooden jewelrys and some other products, arts, building.
    We organize a small festival at the lake every year at the summer solstice. There are many great people coming, we have good food, live music ( bands, electronic music ) and a huge fire in the center of the lake.
    The locals around are very nice people some of them are into gardening, arts.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can have an insight how a farm works, how to make cheese. You can learn how to work with wood. You can meet many interesting local people some of them are even workaway hosts so you will meet other volunteers as well.

  • Help

    Help

    You can help for us in the everyday jobs at the farm like feeding the animals, milking the goats, keep the farm tidy, take outa the dung from the barn, shepherding. We have gardening projects: there are many fruit trees and berries to take care of and to pick them. Lots of nut trees as well. You can also help us with making cheese.
    Before the festival you can also help with the building and gardening projects around the lake. If you are into arts there is also the opportunity to have your own art project for the festival. Land art ideas, small installations and musicians are also more than welcome!
    We also need help with cooking for the home and washing dishes. If you feel like cooking something traditional from your country we are open to it :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    hungarian, english, german,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big house,you can sleep there, or in a tent near the lake. We can offer lots of blankets, pillow. You can use the bathroom, kitchen, washing machine in our house. There is also wifi which you can use. We do eat meat from out farm but we can also offer you anything in case you have a different diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is amazing for hiking, there are many hills around and three castles. In the neighbour village there is a Buddhist Stupa on the hill with meditation hall. The biggest lake in Hungary, the Balaton is only around 25 kilometers from here. A famous secondhand gypsy market and an organic market nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 517765554683