Welcoming help in a garden paradise on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Our place is a beautiful, peaceful seaside house and established garden on the amazing Otago Peninsula, in the township of Portobello.
    We are passionate about gardening and the simple life - working toward our goals slowly as we bring up our daughter Daisy (9) and our little boy Raffy, (5).
    Aidan works in Youth/Family Services, and Bella is a Professional Photographer.
    Both of us work part time, so that we can have lots of time with the kids and enjoy life!
    We love to cook homegrown food, surf, hike, go diving and spearfishing, garden, socialise around the fire with friends, and enjoy learning new things and comedy!
    Around us are some of the most wild and beautiful coastlines of New Zealand, habitated by Albatrosses, Fur Seals, Sealions and Penguins. We are 25 minutes from Dunedin City, which is a beautiful drive away.
    Great sightseeing options around Otago are abundant, and you'll have an awesome base to start from!
    We have been HelpX hosts for 9 years, and absolutely love hosting travellers - we have made so many wonderful new friends this way, and love to hear stories about your home countries and travels!
    We’re looking forward to meeting many more friends through Workaway :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both super social people, and love sharing our lives with others!

    Aidan has a wealth of world travel under his belt, and can give tips for the remainder of your travels, as well as letting you know all the secret spots to see around Otago Peninsula. He’s also an avid surfer and spear fisher and can take you out if you are too.
    If you are interested in cooking, look no further than here - Aidan loves to share his knowledge about baking sourdough, making kombucha, and cooking in general!

    Bella can teach you about photography, how to use your camera, give tips about the area, and can share gardening and plant knowledge and get you excited about setting up your own garden.
    She also knows all the good walking tracks around the Peninsula and can point you in the right direction if you’re keen on a hike.

    Both of us love to hear about your travels - it lets us travel vicariously! And we love hearing about life in your home countries!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Life with two children is busy, and our garden is always in need of a hand! We are looking for 4 hours of help a day to help keep it supplying us with lovely food and atmosphere :)

    Most of the tasks we have is weeding, pruning, planting and harvesting. We have large vegetable gardens, and in summer, most of our food is homegrown! Aidan was a chef until a few years ago, so he makes great use of the garden produce.

    When it’s raining, we have a few indoor tasks such as window cleaning, organising spaces etc, so you won’t always be outside.
    We’re super flexible with hours - you decide when you’d like to help, and if you want to help more one day, and have the next day off, that works fine with us!

    Our kids will quickly become your new best friends - so you’ll need to be comfortable with children! Daisy absolutely loves helpers, and enjoys playing and talking when she gets home from school. She is very into art, reading and crafts, especially sewing and crochet.
    Raffy is mad keen on animals, he’s a budding zoologist or palaeontologist - borderline obsessed 😆

    As part of the family, we’d love it if you’d help out with the clean up after dinner, and to help keep the house generally tidy :) In return, you’ll have free access to the pantry and we will cook you yummy dinners every evening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You’ll have your own large, private room with a very comfortable queen sized bed and couches, in the bottom story of our house, which opens onto the expansive, lovely garden. The bathroom is shared.

    We are just up the road from the water’s edge, and if you’re keen, you can swim in the harbour!

    We cook for you every evening, and you’re welcome to help yourselves to whatever you’d like for breakfast and lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Portobello is a small village, and only has a pub, cafe, and a small grocery store.
    Being 25 minutes from the nearest town, and with a limited public transport service, it’s best if you have your own car.
    As we have young kids, it’s hard to get to emails! So if we don’t reply within a week, please consider this a ‘no’ at this time. Thanks!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Unlimited fibre internet and your own lounge :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Roadside parking

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 517288893112

Feedback (8)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with cleaning in a beautiful location on the coastal peninsula in Northland, New Zealand
Lifestyle block stay just out of Tauranga dedicated to sustainability and self sufficiency, Bay of Plenty NZ