Help around our family home in Gent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 181 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    234

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ____________________________________________________________________________________

    Hello!

    Because of COVID workaway is on hold at the moment, very sorry.

    My project is inner peace, commitment, acceptance and happiness.

    My house is renovated, it has all a person wants, so i like to keep it clean, i don't mind mess ( i have two kids so i know what it is to have stuff all over the place) but i don't like dirty bathrooms or kitchens, we also leave our shoes in the corridor.

    We prefer to eat vegetarian. We do eat meat sometimes.

    I am a single mom and working as a teacher. I teach Dutch (my mothertongue) to foreigners who live in Belgium.
    I will be working every day from monday till friday, so it would be a big help to have somebody around to do some cooking and cleaning, mainly cleaning. It can happen that I have to go somewhere in the evening, so I expect some babysitting as well. Wednesday afternoon we are home, also the kids.

    You would also be able to visit out great city, it is 15min by bike and there is also public transport near my house that goes directly to the center. The city is truly an amazing place!

    My children are very open towards people, not shy at all, they speak a bit of french so if you do too it would be a big help.

    Apart from the cooking, normal household and spending time with the kids, we like your compagny and enthousiasm. I am looking for a spontanious person, who likes to be around kids and doesn’t mind giving me a hand.

    I prefer a minimum stay of 2 weeks.

    Hope to Welcome you soon!

    ______________
    Salut!

    J'ai deux enfants, une fille de 8,5 ans et un garçon de 10 ans. Je travaille comme professeur de langues.
    Notre langue maternelle est le néerlandais, mais on parle aussi le français et l'anglais.

    L'idéale serait que vous êtes un francophone qui pourrait aussi apprendre l'anglais aux enfants, en jouant de temps en temps en anglais. Moi-même je fais des jeux avec eux en anglais, niveau de base en répétant souvent.

    Si vous aimez cuisiner et faire des jeux avec les enfants, bricoler, jeux de sociétés etc... c'est un plus. J'essaie d'éviter les écrans. Mes enfants sont très ouverts et énergiques.

    Je travaille beaucoup et je cherche quelqu’un qui peut rester pour un minimum de 2 semaines et l’idéale serait un ou deux mois.

    J'aime quand la cuisine et la salle de bains soient propre et agréable. Mais néanmoins un peu de désordre n'est jamais très loin avec tout ce que les enfants laissent traîner comme jouets et jeux.

    On préfère ne pas manger de la viande chaque jour.

    L'avantage c'est qu'on habite à 15 min à vélo du centre ville de Gand, la plus belle ville de Belgique avec un atmosphère merveilleuse! Venez découvrir! :)

    à bientôt?

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I welcome you as a family member and you will live with us. I will offer you to join in our activities. You can practice your French or English (and Dutch which is my native language). If you want to get to parties or have a drink, go to events, know what the city has to offer, I'll help you find cool places and the way to get there.

    Ghent is a historic city, yet at the same time a contemporary one.
    In Ghent we have a lot of opportunities to develop an alternative life-style such as permaculture, eco-projects, healing, yoga, art, herborism (i could introduce you to my friends who work on the field, of all the subjects I mentioned I have some of my friends working) .....

    Ghent is a paradise for veggie lovers. Since, proportionally, our city has more vegetarian restaurants than say Paris or London, we can call ourselves the veggie capital of Europe.

    ___________________________________________________________________________
    Je vous accueillerai comme un membre de la famille et vous vivrez avec nous. Je vous proposerai de joindre à nos activités/sorties. Vous pouvez pratiquer le français, l'anglais et le néerlandais qui est ma langue maternelle. Si vous souhaitez sortir faire la fête ou boire un verre, visiter un musée, un lieu, je vous aiderai à trouver des lieux sympas qui vous correspondent et le moyen de vous y rendre.

    Savoir plus sur Gand:

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks:

    - at 7 pm make the lunchboxes for the kids ;
    - fill and empty the dishwasher and keeping the kitchen tidy ;
    - taking the kids to school and/or picking them up in the afternoon ;
    - cook evening meal or snacks ;
    - organize, order and keep tidy where/when is needed ;
    - buy products (mostly food) ;
    - do laundry, fold laundry, iron (a little) ;
    - ...

    Aide:

    - a 7h: préparer les boites de tartines pour les enfants ;
    - emmener les enfants à l'ecole le matin et/ou aller les chercher l'après-midi ;
    - jouer avec les enfants ;
    - s'occuper du lave-vaisselle ;
    - faire la lessive, plier le linge, repasser (un peu) ;
    - faire des petites courses ;
    - cuisiner le souper ou des goûter ;
    - ...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I want my kids to learn French, English and Spanish, I prefer native speakers.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a big sleeping couch available in the living room. I have an open kitchen that is part of the living room as you can see on the pictures. There is a toilet next to the living room. Shower and extra toilet on the first floor.

    Je peux vous offrir un canapé lit dans le salon, il y a un wc et lavabo au rez-de chaussée. La douche est au première étage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have an additional bike for guests, the tram to the center of Ghent is just nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I work outside the house a lot of days, so plenty of time for you to work on your own projects (online)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5h a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 513437627713