Looking for general help and maintenance, in beautiful South West coast of Ireland!

Country

Ireland

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    275

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello future friends!
    We moved to South West Ireland from Edinburgh, Scotland 11 years ago. Our household consists of Daniel, Lorna and Ana who is 20 and our 2 doggies, cat, and horse who lives on a nearby farm. We live about 5km from the beautiful village of Schull on the Atlantic coast. Schull is a small but incredibly popular cosmopolitan village with art galleries, pubs and a few nice shops. We are surrounded by beautiful country walks and only a 10 minute drive from the nearest beach.
    Daniel is an academic working in Cork City, Lorna works part time at the local Sailing School, and Ana has just returned from travelling and is hoping to find work locally.
    We are passionate about animals and animal welfare. We have one vegetarian, one vegan and one meat eater in the house! So we eat a great variety of food!
    We enjoy long beach walk with the dogs, Murray, our 7 year old golden retriever, and Alfie, our 16 week old labrador puppy.
    Ana also enjoys playing our piano, going to the cinema which is a 25 minute drive away, Daniel loves photography, Lorna enjoys listening to music and cooking for the family.
    We have a big house and big garden and feel it would be nice to share our space with people from other countries who can help with the general upkeep of the house and garden and care of the animals.
    We look forward to welcoming new friends into our home!

    *️️️️️️️️️️We would love if someone could come as soon as possible! At the moment the main jobs needing done are: Outdoor painting, setting up a vegetable garden, lots and lots of doggie walking!, general maintenance in the house, lots of gardening. So it's quite important you are happy to work outside :)

    *️️️️The work hours will be approximately 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. But we can be flexible with your hours, for example if you would prefer to work 6 hours a day, 4 days a week, so you can have 3 days off to go and explore other parts of the country, that's okay with us too :) We want you to have the best experience possible! There are lots of beautiful places to explore during your time off!

    *️️️️️️It is really, really important that you love dogs! Our lives pretty much revolve around Murray and Alfie :), Alfie is still very young and has a lot of energy and bad habits! We are currently trying to train him and would love your help!

    *️️️️️️️️We think it would suit us best if people stay with us for 2/3 weeks (or less) at a time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Lorna and Ana both have experience of teaching English as a foreign language, so for non-native English speakers, it would be a great opportunity to improve their language skills.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️If you are interested in art/writing/reading - our house is a perfect location to enjoy these activities, it's extremely quiet, and is surrounded by beautiful countryside views.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️In addition, there are many cultural opportunities in the area and Cork city is only an hour and half away. Daniel drives there most days so there would be lifts to the city available if you wanted to explore more of the country. There is also a cheap bus to from Cork city to Dublin. Schull is quieter at this time of year, it is an idyllic place to relax and enjoy the peace of the countryside.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️A typical Sunday for us would include a long walk on the beach, followed by lunch beside the sea in a pub serving traditional Irish food and drink!

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We have quite a big garden and would be looking for somebody who would be happy and interested in our garden and setting up a vegetable growing area.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Within the house some help with the general maintenance for example - painting both inside and outside.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Some dog walking, and doggie-sitting!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are interested in learning recipes from other countries, and would like our guest to share their cooking skills with us!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We have a piano, a guitar, and ukuleles in the house, and would love somebody to who could teach us the guitar and/or ukeleles! But this would just be a fun bonus for us, and not an actual requirement!

    We would really like someone who is flexible and happy to help out wherever needed!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Some Greek, French, and Irish!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️A large bedroom next to a main bathroom with internet access.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We usually all eat together in the evenings, but our guest would have to be happy to prepare most of their other meals, as we only eat together at the table in the evenings. You are welcome to join us in the evenings, but if you need your own space, that's okay too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Lots of people in our local area hitch hike to other villages and towns as the bus service here is limited. The locals are very friendly and always happy to have a chat with visitors to the area!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are happy for you to explore the area in your free time, and we will help with transport wherever possible. However some of your own independence would probably be needed here due to the rural environment.
    *️️️Lorna does smoke, but mostly outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Walkway towards Barley Cove beach. A beautiful beach famous for its giant waves for surfing!
This beautiful beach is just a 10 minute drive from our house! We go a few times a week, the dogs love running about and Murray adores swimming in the sea!
Schull village
Murray and Ana :)
Summer barbecue on our deck :)
The view out the bathroom window!


Host ref number: 513431295965