Practise your German and learn about permaculture in Erfweiler, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 35 times
  • Last activity: 1 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Permaculture garden
    No idea how to translate the garden's name "Betreutes Wuchern" into proper English!
    It is an experimental garden in the Southwest Palatinate.
    I practice gardening close to nature according to permaculture principles on approx. 5000m2 on different soils and heights.

    As a permaculture practitioner (certified by Holzer, Austria) I try to follow the principles of permaculture in my garden. I live here with two dogs (and til end of September 23 with a friend with three more dogs) and grow my own food (not everything, but much of it). My garden has a high diversity and is hopefully on a good way to climate resilience.

    My English needs some practice and there is lots of work to do in the garden as well as in the house. We are in a small village and have direct access to the woods. It is a nice hiking area, very close to France in the German-French biosphere reserve.

    I'd be happy to host people from everywhere in the world and if you are interested in you can learn stuff about permaculture or improve your German language skills.

    "Betreutes Wuchern"
    Ein Versuchsgarten in der Südwestpfalz, in dem ich naturnahes Gärtnern nach Permakulturprinzipien auf ca 5000m2 mit unterschiedlichen Böden und Höhen prakiziere.

    Natürlich ist immer viel zu viel zu tun, und ich freue mich über Mithilfe im Garten oder beim Renovieren und Putzen. In der Freizeit lässt sich hier gut wandern, und Frankreich ist nah genug für einen Tagestrip.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practice your German and learn about permaculture.

    Deutsch üben, Permakultur kennenlernen

  • Help


    Gardening, renovation projects, possibly fruit processing or household tasks

    Gartenarbeiten, Renovierungsarbeiten, evtl Obstverarbeitung oder Hausarbeiten

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    My English needs practice. Meinem gesprochenen Englisch fehlt die Übung.

  • Accommodation


    1 room under the roof, shared bathroom and kitchen. Cooking together

    1 Zimmer unter dem Dach, Bad- und Küchenmitbenutzung
    Gemeinsames Kochen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hiking and mountain biking, shopping by bike possible, public transport available. Ideal for people who like to roam through the forest!

    Wandern und Mountainbiken, Einkaufen mit dem Fahrrad möglich, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel vorhanden.
    Optimal für Menschen, die gerne durch den Wald streifen!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 511758649736

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help around our 800 years old mill near Heidelberg in Southern Germany
Help out with gardening and some renovations of our little farmhouse home in Dollrottfeld, Northern Germany