Looking for someone to help with our boys on the East coast of Scotland overlooking the beautiful river Tay estuary, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/05/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! Welcome to our family. We have four children aged between five and thirteen. I am Irish and was a secondary school teacher. My husband is Scottish/English and is a University Professor. We live on the East coast of Scotland overlooking the beautiful river Tay estuary. Our house is surrounded by garden and fields. We are lucky to live near forest and beaches whilst being only a 10-minute bus ride via the Tay bridge to the centre of the city of Dundee.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Our three boys, aged 10, 12 and 13, need outdoor fun and keeping an eye on while they do their homework etc. I am looking for someone who likes bike rides, playing football, tennis and any kind of sport. Two of them are Scottish karate champions, they play rugby, football, and violin. It can be a lot of fun but I am needing help to supervise and motivate boys. (Our five year old daughter is a lot less demanding!). So you’ll need to have good fitness and patience with children. You should be a non-smoker.
    I may enjoy the odd meal cooked but the main focus would be the boys. If you were able to help them learn languages (they are studying Spanish, German, and French) or music (they play violin though sometimes reluctantly) that would be a bonus. Helping with gardening is another possibility (but not necessary).
    We’d expect you to help out for 4-5 hours a day for 5 days a week. The remaining time would be your own.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 4-bedroom house spread over 3 floors with 2 bathrooms, 3 sitting rooms, a study and a lovely private garden. We have stunning views across the river to the City. You would have your own room on the lower floor next to the study.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Dundee is a vibrant city with two universities, theatre, museums, and many pubs and restaurants. The main advantage of our location is having city life and country living together. We are a 20-minute drive from historical St. Andrews and about an hour by train from Edinburgh city centre. It’s a 10-minute walk into the local village of Tayport. There is a great cycle path a minute from the house that goes into the forest and beyond to St. Andrews or into the city. Day trips to go hillwalking in the Highland are another possibility. We are a Catholic family and do our best to remember to say our prayers! Evenings and nights are mostly quiet time in the house because of the young children.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 511749327239