Enjoy a cultural exchange on our lifestyle block in the Wairarapa, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/03/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our lifestyle block in the Wairarapa wine growing region is close to Wellington. We have a large garden we are transforming to make us self sufficient and we have a few friendly alpacas and sheep grazing the paddocks. We enjoy meeting new people and have been hosts for a few years. We want your help to make our garden even nicer. We live near to the Tararua mountains which have great walking and camping as well as the Pinnacles walk that starred in Lord of the Rings. Happy to show you around our region and give advice. We also have a homestay but you won't be working in that - you might get to stay in it though! We recommend you have a car or transport of some kind as public transport is limited.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting new people - both of us are very patient with learners of English. My accent is mild Scottish and his accent is middle New Zealand. You'd also experience a real Kiwi lifestyle and help us to make our living sustainable.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening and fencing maintenance please. Mostly weeding and shifting plants making new garden beds and planting. We may ask you to do some painting of the outside and some home maintenance like house washing.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have either the spare bedroom in the main house or you'd have use of our cottage in the garden if it's not being used as a homestay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like you to live with us as part of the family and enjoy having meals together. We live in a beautiful area and if you are a Lord of the Rings fan Rivendell and the City of the Dead locations are close by. We do recommend you have some transport - this is a small village and public transport is very limited. But we enjoy music and you'll get to come to some live music gigs with us. We are both over 60 years old and have travelled the world so enjoy meeting new people and exchanging cultures.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 497714722365