Come join us and help with our children and/or our eco-education project in Northland, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 112 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    We are a family of 7, living in the Bay of Islands region of Northland, 10 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from Kerikeri town.

    The children are aged 1, 3, 6, 10 and 12, are a very dynamic bunch of boys and are home schooled, so they always have interesting projects on the go.

    We have rabbits, parrots, goldfish and chickens.

    We are working on an Ecoproject with a group of people based in Northland, creating entertaining and educational material for both online and on the ground that expresses the ethos of ecoculture. Areas of focus include food, tools, community, well-being, design and creativity. To learn more about the project and ecoculture, please contact us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Within our family and the wider ecoculture community in Northland there is knowledge, skills & experience over a very wide range of areas related to an ecologically centered lifestyle. So depending on what your interests are we can help you expand your own knowledge, skills & experience.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    At the moment there are two areas where we're looking for help:
    1) help and involvement with the children and their activities & help in and around the house;
    2) digital media production; filming, post-production, graphic design, animation and website construction.
    We are looking for someone who would like to help us in either one of these areas; however, if you have skills and interest in both that would be fantastic!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A comfy, cozy caravan parked outside our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Bay of Islands and surrounding area is known for its islands, beaches, waterfalls & forests.
    Having your own transport is definitely a plus, but if you don't we can help you get out and about to check out the sights & activities in the local area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day

Host ref number: 496634999621