Help to revitalise an alpine cabin in Salzburg, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 286 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This summer my family and I want to revitalize the cabin my grandfather built in 1946. It is a wonderful place of silence and simplicity. We get water from a dwell, there is a solar-shower, a little solar-energy and an old wood stove for cooking and heating. I decided to spend my summer up there to work on the hut and write my master thesis.

    Every summer I invite friends for one week to share our knowledge, meditate, hike, make music, share... This year I also want to share this wonderful space on earth with single mothers and their children for one week, as they are one of the poorest groups in Austria and often cannot afford to go on holiday.

    About me: I studied German Literature and Linguistics in Graz, at the moment I do a course about free-time pedagogy with children and teenagers, as I would love to work together with teenagers but I could never be happy working in the Austrian school-system. When I was a child I was very impressed by Mother Theresa, she and Sister Lucy from India (MAHER) inspire me a lot. Also I am interested in the culture, traditions and customs of the region I grew up (Pinzgau), to find out if they are more sustainable and how you can combine them with new knowledge and ideas to live autarkic and in harmony and awareness with nature.

    My father was a farmer and innkeeper and is now retired. He already worked all alone at the cabin when he was 12 years old (milking the cows, taking care for the animals...) He has got a huge heart and loves this place a lot. I am sure he and my mum (who has great and handy ideas for interior design) will be curious and visiting us from time to time. Maybe also my brother will come around, he is a mechatronic technician and mostly stays at the hut in winter time for snowboarding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As I don't have a lot of knowledge about alternative building, it would be great if you could help me with building an outdoor shower, rebuilt the dorm underneath the roof, have ideas or knowledge about defecators, insulation, ovens and in general if you are good with your hands.

    Other things where you can help: cooking, gardening, creating, cleaning, chopping wood, sewing, baking bread, crafting with children, ... I am sure we won't get bored and there is also space and time if you want to try out something new ;)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room or a bed in the dorm, depends on how many people are around ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I love to live with and in nature, I don't eat meat, so the food will be vegetarian/vegan, but I don't mind if somebody brings his/her own meat. I am inspired by ZEN Buddhism, so I will meditate and do yoga in the morning, you are welcome to join. I also love noble silence for breakfast.

    The hut is situated on 1800 meters, on a "grass-mountain", so if you like hiking, it's a great place to start. In ca. 40 minutes you can reach a lake, lovely and cold to swim in ;) In Weißbach and other places around it's good for climbing, rafting, biking, etc.

    To get to the cabin, it is either a 4 hours walk from Maria Alm, or one hour if you take the cable-car (only possible on Wednesdays and Sundays) If you cannot or don't want to hike up, I or my father can also bring you up by car ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 496567257937