Come and help our family with creating a productive small farm in Mosna, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family (my husband, Tom, and I and my grown up son, Stephen) living in beautiful Transilvania. We live on our small farm of 4,000 square meters and are trying to to turn it into a productive small farm. We have been here for four years so are still at the very beginning of our adventure. As well as gardening work, we have ongoing landscaping and house maintenance projects going on - every day, somebody has a new brilliant idea! We hope to be building a chicken coop and an outdoor oven in the near future - it's all hugely busy and exciting. We love having volunteers around and have two spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms in a separate building from the main house - we have three buildings altogether. We expect you to be a part of the family and join in with meals, cooking and the general chat around those events. We are all chatty and cheerful and hugely enjoy company. We have two cats and two dogs who are all house pets so are around the kitchen and under our feet when we are gathered there. It's generally happy chaos!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Romania is a huge, varied and interesting country. The area in which we live is gently hilly with forests and farmland as well as a number of medieval villages and the iconic Saxon fortified churches. Our village, Mosna, is a fair size and the population either work in our local town (Medias) or live and work on their land. It's an attractive, peaceful village and within easy reach of some of the most famous Transilvanian landmarks like, Sibiu, Sighisoara and Biertan. We love it here and enjoy the views and ambience. Our household and cuisine is more generally European than Romanian and, of course, we speak English but our way of life is more Transilvanian - slow and laid-back!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    So far, our travellers have helped with breaking new ground for planting, fencing, landscaping and painting. The help needed is not very heavy and we are very flexible - none of us is fanatical but we do get things done - eventually.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Romanian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate building in the garden with two very spacious rooms (one double and one twin) with their own shower rooms. Each has wifi and a kettle with tea, coffee provided. The rooms open on to a sunny patio with great views. All meals will be in the main house (or the garden ) with the whole family when everyone gets together and helps with what is required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a couple of small general stores in the village. Our nearest town is 17km away. Medias has supermarkets, restaurants and an interesting medieval centre with much of the original city wall still standing as well as the fortified church. There are buses to and from Medias from the village and taxis to and from are very, very cheap.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 493317295722