Experience off the grid mountain family life in Tagamanent, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello beautiful people!

    We live off the grid on a 100ha piece of mountain land in the Montseny Natural Park and Biosphere Reserve 45km North of Barcelona in Central Catalonia Spain. We are a family of four. Me, Sean 56, Myriam 50, Ana 23 and Awen 9, plus two dogs and a cat. I am a multiphase artisan, Myriam is an artist and way opener. Ana doesn’t live with us but comes to stay often.

    Our way of living is based on a search for equilibrium with nature, ourselves and all our relations. We are here to create community with the plants, the animals, and the elements. We´ve been working really hard for the past 10 years on this project and we welcome support from hard working people that have a vision for the world that is respectful and in service for the well-being of all.

    Our location is within a holm oak and heather forest wild land that was abandoned in 1918 and has not been inhabited nor cultivated since. Quite pristine, south facing with no neighbors in sight, though they are not far away. Nearest neighbor is 1.5km away and town with public transport connections including train is 7km by dirt track. We bought the land in 2011 because of its pristine organic nature, abundant spring water, firewood and a few fields on which to grow food.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a small sawmill, carpentry shop, a manual forge, a ceramics studio with a kiln, chainsaws, brush cutters, a small pay loader with attachments and loads of hand and power tools to do just about anything. Both of us are constantly involved in artistic crafts and enjoy teaching skills to those who wish to learn when applicable.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always lots to do. Cleaning the abandoned forest, fixing roads, building with stone, wood and metal, caring for the hen house, building storage sheds, starting a vegetable garden, drystack stonewalls, path work, preparing firewood, cooking, sanding, brush clearing. Loads of skilled and unskilled work. Some heavy (most), some light, some requiring experience, others not. Experienced skills are always a plus (foresters, carpenters, blacksmiths, masons, welders, gardeners etc., but general help around the is helpful too. Legal driving abilities with experience is a plus.

    We feel that 5 hours of work (usually 8-9am to 1- 2pm) 5 days a week in exchange for food and lodging is reasonable but it can be flexible depending on what you are actually coming here to do, though some things need to be taken care of at any time of day or sometimes even night. In general, weekends are free time but occasionally things need to be done then as well (a storm is coming and the firewood needs to be brought in, for example).

    Though not as a rule, you may often be given tasks on the land to carry out on your own or as a couple (if the job is suitable for you), with adequate tools, instruction and support. There are also jobs that require teamwork with one or all of us, or sometimes, just a present and observant helping hand. It depends on the seasons, the weather, our immediate needs and your skills or abilities.

    We want people who love nature, children, outdoors living, are strong and flexible both in character and body. Openness, attentiveness to collaborative existence, taking care of oneself and being responsible for oneself. No complainers. Solution seekers yes. Positive attitude, observation and openness are best.

    We prefer people that will come for a minimum for two weeks, ideally one month, and if things roll, longer stays are welcome. We require that you have your own health insurance and your own cash at hand.

    As mentioned before, there are many different kinds of things to do. Once we begin contact with each other we can together define a specific project or set of tasks depending on your interests but we will consider your skills and/or ability to learn to be the defining factor of what you can help us with.

    And finally, we want anyone who comes to have a positive attitude towards life and wants to enjoy it!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room with a twin size or double bed in a separate stone cabin with plenty of hot water for showers and baths, a small wood fired kitchen/living area and a private bathroom. A basic all around and road worthy 125cc motorcycle is available for those who wish to use it and have a normal car or motorcycle license and are willing to buy the necessary insurance (if they wish to take it off the private land).

    Satellite Internet with Wi-Fi, though not unlimited, is abundant but we must be careful with heavy downloads or uploads. WhatsApp, Skype, Zoom etc, normaly OK through internet. Streaming at medium resolution is usually good.

    No TV. No dependable cellphone network coverage.

    Food of the house is omnivorous although there isn’t a big focus on meat, it is welcomed and must be well bred. Vegetarians and Vegans are welcome but at times may be required to cook for themselves if steak or sausage or butter and eggs are on the menu. No picky eaters please.

    Lunch will usually be served between 1-2pm by us in the main house but breakfast and dinner is on your own (you will find basic pantry supplies in your kitchen upon your arrival and we will gladly accommodate for your nutritional preferences when shopping.

    Moderate alcohol, tobacco, particular personal care items such as soaps and shampoos etc you must supply for your self and we do request that the later be biodegradable please since our waste management system (a reed pond) relies on sensitive bacteria to work properly.

    Smokers are welcome (Sean smokes as well) but out of doors only and no synthetic filters left on the property please!

    Please do not bring pets.

    We will be uploading photos of the accommodations and surroundings soon!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Skiing in the nearby Pyrenees and beaches are only an hour away by car (public transport a little longer), as is Cosmopolitan Barcelona (by train) full of cultural agenda, world heritage and shopping. Lots of local hiking trails, rock climbing nearby, weekend markets, open terrace cafés. Lots of peace and quiet (except for the birds in spring) in nature on the land.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Small campervans like Volkswagen transporters or such that can handle the hilly dirt track are usually fine. Motorhomes or large trailer campers will not make it up the hill.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 493189327696