Join a big family working on a homestead! Help with natural earth construction and permaculture gardening in Michigan, USA


United States

Favourited 181 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    We are a family of 11, 9 siblings, living in our natural-built cordwood home and working our 50 acre homestead in the upper peninsula of Michigan. We support ourselves with an online Etsy shop where we sell rustic wedding items, toys and gifts. We range in age from 29 - 10, although most of us are in our 20's. We've been raised with big gardens, lots of land and animals--yep, living the good life! We believe in a life that is peaceful, abundant, natural, wholesome and fun; a place to be truly happy and deeply satisfied. We have a lot of ideas and projects planned for our space of love this summer--always a work in progress! We work hard and play hard, though not always in that order ;). We make sure we leave plenty of time for volleyball, swimming, music, good food, board games, bike rides, horse rides and bonfires on the beach. And though we're not short of hands, we thought it would be fun to share our summer with others who would enjoy disappearing into the middle of nowhere to work and play with our crazy (fun ;)) bunch in our little slice of heaven.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are no end to the projects around here, as our interests are greatly diversified. If natural earth buildings, gardening, permaculture, natural horsemanship, cooking, community, preserving and eating healthy interest you (or you just want to experience life with a big family on a homestead!) you could have a lot of fun here! ;)

  • Help


    Our building projects for this summer are yet to be determined, although there's a good chance we'll be playing in the mud again (making cob ;)). If you're interested in what we're up to at a given time feel free to contact us! Garden projects usually stay the same and will include swales around fruit trees and additional hugel mounds in the gardens. On an average day we spend a couple hours doing manual labor (hauling manure or weeding, or working on our building projects) and a couple hours doing lighter work such as harvesting or processing, depending on what projects are underway. We save plenty of time in the evenings for you to either participate in our group activities or relax into whatever hobbies you enjoy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a decent sized one-room vertical log cabin a short walk down the road to camp in (off-grid), built by oldest brother a handful of summers ago. Otherwise you can pitch a tent anywhere. We also have a cordwood/cob garden studio we finished last summer (also off-grid) with an outhouse close by. We have an outdoor solar shower that we use throughout the summer to minimize our hot water use during the summer. Home-cooked meals are provided, though we'll be eating and hanging out outdoors mostly (the house is small ;)). We eat meat but it isn't a large part of our diet, so most of the meals may be vegetarian (though we have raw dairy and eggs in abundance).

    *️️️️*️️️️We're sorry but we can't offer accommodations for families, couples, children or pets at this time.*️️️️*️️️️

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 4 miles from beautiful Lake Superior, which we frequent nearly every day in the heat of summer, and 15 miles from the Porcupine Mountains where we like to spend time hiking. We're 10 miles from the small town of Ontonagon. The closest airport or bus stop is an hour away, but we can pick up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 492538574518