Help renovate an old house and share your knowledge in sustainability and zero waste living in Picardy, France

Country

France

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/03/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    177

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a nice brick house and need and hand to bring back this old lady to her best potential!
    I discovered workaway idea when I was travelling in new Zealand a few years ago. Now that I settle down, I would love to offer you that experience from the other side! I miss this feeling of meeting new people from all around the world so you are welcome in my house!

    I'm quite interest in sustainability, zero waste and this kind of way of life. I don't know much about that so if you have experience with permaculture, natural building and painting, I'll be glad to have some advices!

    The house is quite far from public transportation, shops and facilities so you need to have your own vehicle to come. As I'm working during the week, you'll spend most of the days on your own, so you must be autonomous. But I will spend evening and weekends there so we will still have plenty of time together!

    You'll be sleeping in your own room but it's a share bathroom.
    I have 2 cats, not allowed in the guest room (if you are allergic they will stay outside). Your pets are welcome if they don't mind cats. And i's a no smoking house (you can smoke outside).

    I live just on the edge of a large forest, with good paths for walking, biking, running, meditation, wildlife gazing...
    I think it's a great place for someone who want a nice and calm experience in French countryside.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak French and I'm willing to help you learn some if you want.
    I'm a forest ranger and can talk to you about trees, plants and forestry (actually you might have to stop me at some point! ;)
    I can share some cooking recipes and tricks as I enjoy cooking.
    I enjoy knitting and yarn dyeing process and love to share my yarnddiction!
    I also enjoy sewing and try to keep my sewing sustainable by using second hand material and mostly natural fabrics.

  • Help

    Help

    The house need some indor refreshment. I don't know yet all I want to do in there but there'll be some wall painting involve for sure.

    I have a garden too if you prefer working outside and if the weather allows it. I intend to try some permaculture vegetables garden but don't know much about that. I would like to build a cold frame or a greenhouse made from reused material.

    If you like cooking, I'm always curious to try different food. I'm used to eat meat and try to reduce my meat consumption but I have hard time to cook meat free meals so if you are vegetarian or vegan, I hope you can share tricks or recipes!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be sleeping in your own room but it's a share bathroom.
    I have good internet access (illimited, good network in the first floor) and no TV.
    I have 2 cats and it's a no smoking house.
    You will be offered three meals a day, but you'll have to cook your lunch sometime.
    I do eat meat but I can switch for vegetarian or vegan if you tell me in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    None of these are in a walking distance
    - Matisse (painter) museum
    - Familistère (remains of a social utopia by Godin)
    - old castle (XVI century)
    - WW1 cemeteries and landmarks.
    - fortified churches
    - fabric and lace museum
    - brewery
    And probably plenty of other things I haven't yet discover!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Can be flexible.


Host ref number: 489778161977