Help needed on Off-Grid Farm; Natural building, Gardens, Cows, Childcare, Eco-tourism. Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 937 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ---- At the moment we are working on a natural building (rammed earth) project, setting up ecotourism incluiding 2 gypsywagons and a farmhouse, a vegetable garden and looking after our cows. Besides that we are expecting a new family member at the end of may. We are looking for a responsible couple who like to live on our farm for a few months and are keen on helping out.

    Jobs incluide:
    - Helping with the natural building site. We are working on a rammed earth (taipa) House;
    Plastering, painting, laying a clay floor, carpentry, plumbing
    - General work on the farm; vegetable garden, cows, land mantainment..
    - Help with babysitting our 4 year old.
    - Help with housecleanings ---



    The idea is to create a low key, off-grid, experimental self reliant farm with seasonal tourism.
    We are Rick, Sanne and Xavi (30, 29 and 3,5). We also have 2 dogs, 3 Cows, 2 cats and some chickens. We are starting a self reliant project/life and we have been blessed with a gorgeous piece of land to do it on. We want a fun atmosphere and more like-minded people to come and enjoy the ride. We have lived and worked in many places and been inspired by lots of different people and lifestyles. We want to make everything functional with minimal impact and try to inspire people how to live comfortably, minimally. Let us know your skills and interests and sometimes we can try and cater the work to that.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At the farm, volunteers can learn about natural and modern building techniques. Off-grid living; providing your own energy and water. Sustainable agriculture. Holistic grazing. Growing vegetables during drought seasons. Keeping the living areas safe of forest fires.
    After work and in the weekends you can go for beautiful walks through nature and along the traditional neighbouring farms. You can visit Odeceixe historical centre (8km) or one of the many beautiful beaches.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we are in the middle of a big house building projects, (infact, two!). It's a rammed earth construction with limecrete/clay tile floors, lime plastering , the traditional portuguese cathedral roof and is in need of some serious landscaping now the structure is watertight! So any skills and/or keen interest relevant to this is necessary. We need volunteers that are capable of heavy lifting, digging, getting dirty and using a tape measure and a level with a keen eye for finesse and a job done well and fully. It can be hard work and if you're doing it well you'll be tired.

    Other smaller tasks on the side include converting a van, preparing the land and gypsy wagons for the start of our summer tourist season. Making some pallet decks and basic outdoor furniture from rough sawn timber. A bit of heavy duty strimming is often on the cards! Clearing some land and burning for fire safety, fencing the cows, strimming... sawing, heaving fallen trees. etc to provide us with firewood and to give space for good groundcover to return along the riverside. & some daily routine house tasks.

    For the summer months we will also need help in the household, elping out in the garden and looking after our 4 year old.

    There will be a little of continual gardening (less so over winter) & keeping the animals. We currently have cows and chickens.

    We have a small no dig organic garden and many compost piles!

    We are interested in creating more swales and using goats for soil building, fire prevention and meat production on our steeper slopes, i.e fencing and digging!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we offer accommodation of two Mercedes busses, a couple of gypsy wagons and a camper. Camping is also a possibility, but might be a bit cold between november & april. People with their own vans are ideal too.

    We provide 3 meals a day. We have a small child and a small house so we like to have it to ourselves in the evenings.

    There is a compost toilet, heated shower and outdoor kitchen near the vans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are living very basically at the minute and we have for years. These first years we are looking for people that are eager to see the realities of setting up a self reliant patch of land completely off grid & whom are happiest when living basic with minimal footprint like we are.

    In exchange for your much appreciated hard work we will return..

    3 Meals a day

    Hot shower

    Town or Beach transport now and again.

    Beautiful location, we are 10mins from the beach, just over 5mins from town (By car). The valley is a lovely place for hiking, biking, swimming, fishing and mushroom hunting (after the rains) but it is a bit secluded without transport (6km walk to town). Odeceixe town can be very quiet in winter and very busy in summer, in winter we mostly spend our time visiting neighbours along the valley and getting stuff done.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week















Host ref number: 489624315717