Come help us transform our land to a small paradise here in Nagypeterd, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Christian believing family of mother and daughter (51yrs and 18yrs) from Denmark who in May 2019 bought a piece of land (3600sqm) in the Vineyard area just outside Nagypeterd - Baranya, Hungary.

    The land has an orchard with several fruit trees, among which we find sour cherries, pears, red and green apples, and plums. There are also two plots with rows of red and white grapes and a vegetable plot.

    Our vision for the land is a place where people as singles or groups can come and spend time together with God: Jesus Christ of Nazareth, away from daily life necessities and distractions.

    Our plan for the place is to reform the lower orchard plot (1500sqm) to a place where you can walk through to expand your smell, touch, and sight by making a garden with herbs, flowers, water, and 2-3 small two-person shelters for overnight stays. One of the plots (previous wine plot) will be transformed into a garden with a greenhouse and more exotic trees for self-sufficiency and hopefully a few beehives.

    We are still a long way from our vision, but we are getting there step-by-step.

    PLEASE make sure to read the whole description before contacting us. Thanks in advance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our horse is in a village close by where there is an ökopark with possibility for hiking, horseback riding, etc. You are welcome to join us when we drive there daily.

    The weather in Hungary is actually pretty good right now. Still a bit cold during the night and during the day it still requires a jacket, but it's nice and sunny.

  • Help

    Help

    This spring we have both bigger and smaller projects that need to be done, so depending on your skills, here is a summary of the most important things:

    DIY Projetcs:

    • Put up a fence around our land.

    • Set up a metal tool shed - for this, we need to make a wood foundation + put together the metal shed.
    The metal shed is not that easy, since it comes in many pieces and screws - with a manual, though :D

    • Make a stone foundation under the caravan and a wooden roof above it.

    GARDEN Chores:

    • Clear a scrubland that we bought last year. We started this last year, but the end part still needs to be cleared.

    • Make raised beds for planting.

    • Paint the trees with white chalk.

    We have a 2 year old horse who needs a lot of training (basically needs to learn everything). If you have any knowledge and skills with horsemanship, you are welcome to help out.

    ** It would be nice if you have a driving license, though it is not a requirement, but we will have to go and get materials, etc. We have a pickup truck that can be loaded.

    *** Make sure you have your own international health insurance before you come!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish - English - and a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Long story short, the house at the vineyard is not in a livable condition at the moment, therefore, we can offer accommodation in a tent.

    ACCOMMODATION:
    There will be provided a well-sized private tent with a bed and sleeping covers and seating area. You will get your own private camping toilet (it's your responsibility to empty and clean it). We don't have a functional shower, so it will be done over a washbasin. The same goes for washing clothes. We fetch water every 2nd to third day in the nearby village, depending on the needs.

    We will not accommodate new-age people and we don't accept yoga or Hindu/Buddist meditation in our house. (Hidden word: Truth)

    WIFI:
    We have wifi that you can use.

    FOOD:
    Most of the time we eat quite healthy and if you need snacking in between meals, you need to provide it yourself. If you can cook, you are welcome to do so for all of us.

    Please note that we are NOT able to host vegetarians or vegans since our diet contains both meat (limited, but never pork) and dairy products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you would to come and join us for a minimum of two weeks, please send a personal message with a few details about you and any previous experience that you find relevant for the skills needed for this project.

    If you have made it to the end and read the description thoroughly, please include the (hidden word) found in the text.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 489339549114