Join me and experience life in my sailboat in the French Riviera in Toulon, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everybody!
    I am Giovanni, Italian, 39 years old. After many years spent doing the big city life working as music composer and teacher (Rome, Paris, LA) I decided to go back to nature and after having an extensive sailing experience in the Canary Islands and the Caribbean I finally bought my first sailboat, a Yachting France Jouet 32, in the French Riviera in Toulon.
    My project is to experience live aboard life for some time and sailing the Mediterranean Sea, enjoying, exploring, snorkeling, meeting interesting people, sharing wisdom and experience with open-minded and eco-friendly people.
    The boat is a 10 meters sloop in good shape that needs tender loving care and some repair (it's from 1976!) and can host up to 6 persons.
    I am looking for minded souls that want a deeper contact with nature and wants to explore the islands nearby in a first time, and then head south (Corsica, Sardinia, Southern Italy, Greece), and that understand that the beauty if the sailing live is also in renouncing some comfort.

    UPDATE!! The beat needs a new rudder and will be on the hard until the 20th of October so I'm not able to accept warkawayers until the end of October/November

    UPDATE!! Macron will very likely lockdown the country for 4 weeks starting tonight so I will not be able to accept workawayers until further notice..:(

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll learn how to dock, the tricks and ropes of sailing, how to safely anchor, raise the sails, how to sail according to the wind, starboard tack and port tack, and in general how to maneuver a sailboat, and also all the competence needed in maintain, repair and live aboard.
    In addition, you will know the basic of composing music if interested and sharing knowledge about electronic music producing is also possible (in a sailboat! yes yes)
    You will visit the natural park of the island of Hyeres (Porquerolles, Port-Cros, Ile du Levant).
    Beautiful hiking are possible nearby as well as visit historical places in the city of Toulon and in the region nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    You will get involved in various maintenance project, as refitting the interiors, painting the cockpit and the hull, redoing/improving electrical system, engine maintenance, cleaning the hull, improving the boat to be self-sufficient with electricity and heolic systems, helping to sail, steering, watching and helping to do the everyday tasks required on an eco-friendly sailboat (help reducing the waste, paddling to the shore to get water and food instead of motoring, filter rain water, produce potable water from seawater manually, cooking creative meals, etc. ).
    No previous sailing skills is required but very appreciated, if you know how to work with electricity/wood/ is also appreciated but not mandatory (any help is precious in a sailboat!)
    Safety comes first on a sailboat, so I prefer people that knows how to swim (mandatory!), at least when cruising. All safety equipment (life jackets) will be provided when cruising.
    Keep in mind that winter will be cold, bring waterproof clothes because to stay dry and warm is very important. Also, the Mistral is blowing hard in this area, and we will go out mainly day cruising and only when the weather is calm and is very safe to sail.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The boat is a 32 feet Yachting France Jouet, it's 10-meter-long and 3.20 meter large and can accommodate up to 6 people in shared berth. There's a V-Berth on the front, with hot shower and toilet (in good weather we use the shower on the cockpit and in winter the marina's shower are preferred because of humidity), there's a gas heater for hot water and 2 convertible berths in the main space that can host up to 4 people when in port.
    It's a small space!
    Privacy is reduced but the v-berth in the front have a door that can be closed as well as the toilet.
    While cruising, it can accommodate maximum 4 person for a comfortable cruise.
    While at port, WC and showers and washing machine are available in the Marina of Toulon.
    Harmony and happiness and a will to share are very important!
    Food expenses inboard are shared, there's a 2 stove gas burner for cooking and a small 12 volts fridge that works with solar panels while cruising (we don't want to use the engine too much to charge batteries!).
    Creative cooking with little equipment is very welcome ;)
    While at port we have all the electricity needed, while cruising is very important to have in mind that solar panels and wind generator will be our only source of electricity in order to drastically reduce the engine pollution, so we have a very limited source of electricity that we use mainly for the engine starter and windlass (if not lazy we can pick up the anchor manually..).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You could explore the city of Toulon and the Provence area/Southern France during your free time and while not cruising.
    The area is full of culture, museums, churches, art but also astounding hiking spots, cascades, and beautiful nature.
    While cruising the use of free time will be organized by the crew depending on of the needs of everyone, and keeping in mind that we're going to be at anchor most of the time and the transfers to land are made by paddling mainly or exceptionally with dinghy. Someone will always have to be on board to check the boat/anchor.
    The boat is in the port of Toulon, 5 minutes walk from the center.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 488817658858