Help us on our off grid, eco olive finca completely secluded in the mountains of Tarragona, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 31 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello !

    We are Georgia and Jack a laid back British couple in our late twenties fulfilling our dream of living completely off grid on a 36 acre olive farm with our two young children and animals , completely secluded in the Catalonian mountains near the traditional farming towns of Tivissa and Ginestar .

    We moved to Catalonia at the end of September 2018 to live a more harmonious lifestyle , spending loads of time together as a family , completely connected to nature and far far away from the dreaded rat race with the goal to be as self sufficient as we can possibly be , growing all our own fruit and vegetables and caring for all and harvesting all of the near 700 olive and almond trees that we have on the land !

    The property is 36 acres in total of beautiful mountainous land consisting of olive and almond groves for as far as the eyes can see - the views here are truly spectacular with loads of wildlife such as a family of rare Bonelli Eagles , wild boar , owls , foxes , butterflies , lizards all surrounding the Finca . We also have a few of our own animals who are all super friendly including our three dogs , two cats and two cheeky goats !

    We are completely off grid and we rely solely on the rain water which we collect and store in our under ground cisterna , we also have solar panels for electricity so our helpers would have to be mindful of this during their stay with us especially during the hot summer months and we cannot power items such as kettles and hair dryers .

    Our lovely helpers would stay in our guest house which is next door to the main farm house .
    The casita is a beautiful little one bedroom house with a fully functioning kitchen with oven , fridge and sink , mezzanine bedroom which has a big double bed with doors leading out onto a private outdoor terrace .
    There is a cosy living space with a log burner for those cooler winter nights . The casita also has a large walk in shower and eco flushing toilet .

    As you can imagine with two young children living off grid with such a lot of land to manage and a Finca to constantly care for and maintain we could really use some help and ideally we would love it if a couple or two friends could come and stay with us to lend a hand with all the constant jobs that need doing and even from time to time entertain our two girls and maybe teach them any languages or skills you have . I (Georgia) speak fluent english and Jack speaks fluent english and very good Spanish and both of us are happy to share our language skills with work aways looking to learn .

    To give you an idea of the sort of tasks you can expect to help us with are anything from:

    > Gardening and landscaping , planting flower beds , weeding , pruning , repairing fallen terrace walls)
    > Animal care - walking the animals (that includes the dogs , cats and goats !) , grooming them , clearing out their pens , feeding and watering them
    > Land management - using a strimmer , chainsawing , olive tree pruning , splitting logs , clearing land
    > House sitting when we go away
    > DIY and general maintenance - basic electricity , plumbing , building , repair jobs , up cycling furniture
    > Helping to manage and develop the vegetable garden (any knowledge on this would be amazing)
    > Excavating a spring on the land (this is a very exciting up and coming project we have to do)
    > General cleaning - help with laundry , washing up , cleaning windows , vacuuming
    > Cooking the odd meal from time to time (we are vegan btw!)
    > Mechanical repair jobs on the vans and quad
    > Managing the Olive and Almond trees , harvesting them from Nov - Feb , help with the olive press ( you will be sure to get plenty of olive oil if you come during this time!)
    > Entertaining our two girls and teaching them any languages or skills you have
    > Help with art murals on some of the big walls we have in the main Finca

    We are ideally looking for a couple who can provide around 7 hours each , a week and in return you have free accommodation . You would be responsible for providing your own meals as we find it too much to cook for our work aways with having two small children and myself and Jack working at random hours as well .

    There is loads to do during your free time here , the local beach is only a 35 minute drive away and is beautiful all year round with lovely restaurants and tapas bars with plenty of xiringuitos to choose from along the beach fronts .
    Our local town of Ginestar is located at the bottom of the track about a 15 minute drive away and has a few traditional bars , restaurants , post office , bakery , small food store , tobacconist and water fountain where you can fill up drinking water for free . There is a local market on every Friday morning too .
    Mora D'Ebre is a large town about a ten minute drive away (once at the bottom of the track) and has lots of shops and restaurants to choose from with everything you need . Mora also has two big super markets to choose from either Esclat or Mercadonna .
    You can also catch a direct train from Mora La Nova into Barcelona city centre , which is a beautiful 2 .5 hour train journey going through the Catalonian country side and mountains then along the coast .

    Whilst you stay we are happy to help book you onto local excursions such as kayaking , rock climbing , horse riding , cycling tours , canyoning , wine tasting and more ! You can also book from a range of holistic treatments with myself (Georgia) anything from Reflexology , aromatherapy body massage , organic facials etc as I am a fully qualified holistic therapist . We can also arrange for you to have a private yoga sessions at our dedicated yoga terrace by the pool with our lovely friend who is an amazing yoga teacher !
    There are loads of amazing walks and cycling routes around the area and directly from the property , there is plenty to do around here if you like getting active and keeping busy or on the flip side this is the perfect place to have a complete digital detox experience and un plug yourself from society by relaxing in the peace and quiet of the mountains completely immersed in nature a true off grid experience .

    If you have any questions about our place and what else you can expect whilst you stay with us please get in touch as we would love to here from you ,

    Georgia & Jack

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are by no means experts in any area however we can share our knowledge on off grid living , the process to buying a property over here in Spain , growing vegetables organically , eco tips from harvesting rain water , solar power process , making a soak away , basic DIY knowledge , vegan cooking , yoga .
    I am also happy to share my knowledge in her holistic therapies , teaching reflexology , massage , aromatherapy , organic facial routines and how to make your own organic products .

    If you have a love of olives and olive oil then you should come here during October - February as t is an amazing time to visit with it being the olive harvest season . You can come and learn the process of what it takes to make the finest organic olive oil right from the olive on the tree to bottling it up . We can take you to visit the local olive presses and see the joy of the local village with the buzz of farmers taking their olives to the press - its a magical time .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a enthusiastic couple who love adventures and who are keen to get stuck in with the never ending list of jobs we have around the farm and looking after our animals .
    We would want a couple who would also be happy to house sit for us whilst we travel back to the UK at points throughout the year .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fully functioning eco guest house which would suit a couple perfectly .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would ask that our helpers also have their own transport as we live fairly remote in the mountains and the nearest supermarket is a 20 minute drive away .
    You can reach the coast in about a 35 minute drive too .
    There is also a train that runs from our local town 'Mora La Nova' into the centre of Tarragona in about 45 minutes or into Barcelona centre in 2 hours 30 minutes .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a little internet access from inside the guest Casita which you are welcome to tap into , but it is very slow and temperamental , however you can get a 3g/4g signal from most parts of the property .

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We welcome work aways who wish to stay in their campervans - we have the perfect spot for this with access to a plug .

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12 hours each , per week .



Host ref number: 485939862432