Join a group of artists and help make films in the Philippines.

Country

Philippines

Favourited 738 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4959

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a filmmaker. I made my first film, in 2008. It was the first film to be shoot entirely in the island of Cuyo using the Cuyonon language and became the Philippine Entry for Best Foreign Language film to the 81st Academy Awards. It was also declared as the Official Language of Palawan and the Provincial Board recognized my film as a catalyst for that resolution.

    Those accomplishments made filmmaking even harder because I was trying to out do my first film only to realize after a few failed attempts, that I am not the kind of Director and Writer whose films will do good at the box-office, instead, I am an advocate of content that will remind people where they are, where they ought to be and how beautiful life is.

    After more than 10 years of finding ways, me and my friends were finally able to figure out a way to introduce crowdfunding in the Philippines by staging a New Media Convergence while the Puerto Princesa Underground River rests.

    Anyone who volunteers in any of our projects becomes instrumental in the much needed rest of one of the 7 New Wonders of Nature.

    And as a by-product of the festival, we engage participants in film & theater production.

    Workawayers will be staying at the house where my parents live at the back of the studio. Staff and volunteers take turns in preparing the meals. Usually we prepare traditional Filipino food. Vegetarians will have to take care of their meals.

    I must warn you: My parents are the sweetest couple in the world. My father is already developing Alzheimer's so he might ask your name several times, crack the same Cuyonon joke and compliment you on how good you look every time he sees you. And my mother will apologize for my father's jokes by giving you a tight hug afterwards.

    I need volunteers to help me shoot / edit promotional videos, online marketing, leafletting at the Underground River, help start an edible garden, and run our gallery cafe, souvenir shop and black box theater.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Need volunteers to help plan promotional materials and videos to market our advocacy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fan room at the second floor of my parents house under a mango tree at the back.

    The office and store at the ground floor closes at 10PM which is also the main access to the compound. If you will be staying out beyond 10PM, you can make arrangement with one of the staff to open the gate for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 484195844876