Spend time on a house barge near Toulouse, France

Country

France

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! I'm living in a house barge with my partner on the Canal du Midi, near Toulouse, my two sons (better english speaking than I) are living not too far from us and they love to come for a nice break :-)
    it's a different and wonderful way of life ! inside, on the deck or on the river side some moments are just unique and relaxing.
    but this time we will be out of the water :-( for technical maintenance
    follow me and you'll see what i'm looking for

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    it was nice to spare time with Anton last summer and that confirms that meeting new persons are a really good way of life and favorable to maintain youth and open mind :-)
    My partner and I, are curious of all kind of art and cultures, speaking long times about ... all ! take time during diner, week ends to share, to discover each other,
    my partner is musician, singer and guitarist and loves playing for friends, so nice evenings around him too;
    this is why I renew this experience, sharing hard work, laugh and peacefull moments

  • Help

    Help

    this is our second experience with Workaway and the first one was great !

    Our boat will be in dry dock from the 27th of july until the 20th of august in a technical port close to the center of Toulouse.
    We will take advantage during this time to renovate the woody cockpit that you can see on the photo,the french name is "marquise"
    renovation outside (roof, doors, windows) and inside a lovely authentic one roomed flat (electricity – shower room)

    if we have time, we could also clean the deck and maintain some touches of painting

    So we need help but it is not necessary to know about carpentry, we need just good arms ;-) and determinate to work in a place not really comfortable (sun and heat during the day) : the boat will not be on water

    The compensation could be a nice week after the job when the boat will be back in its usual spot, see the photo
    It could be difficult to welcome a couple of volunteers due to the available place to rest and sleep, but we can discuss about this possibility

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    français, anglais espagnol

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    independent cabin on the boat, (maybe in "the marquise" ...) but only one bed, common toilets and bathroom, with us
    breakfast, lunch and dinner, when you are with us at home
    bicycles available to move

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the city is just amazing and the region is a really wonderful south region, so places to discover not too far, rich of history, famous also for its cooking specialities and mine too ... it's says I'm a rather good cook
    I will be on holidays during this time
    so I'm looking for persons who have a nice sweet nature, cheerful when we are together ;-)
    hope you will find nice places and nice hosts ...
    Patricia

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.



Host ref number: 483998827669