Join our friendly and adventurous family in Stillwater, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    238

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a friendly and adventurous family. Alexandra and Grant with our two children - Charlotte (6 years) and Miller (5 years), and dog Stompy (2 years old).

    Grant works full time as an IT systems administrator, and would love to get all his DIY projects done around the house. Alex previously worked 3 days a week as a university lecturer in wellness and researcher in health, she is now working at home to start a new corporate wellness company. Charlotte has just started school which is a rural school where they have an agricultural day to look after animals and make scarecrows! Charlotte loves dancing around, playing cards and chess and playing on the trampoline. Miller also goes to school and loves to run around and play lego. Miller loves anything with wheels, playing tag and in the sandpit and is super energetic! We all like to take Stompy for walks and runs - he is very fast - and give him lots of pats. We love family time together, playing games, lego, arts and crafts, trying to fit in outdoor adventures, beach time and doing DIY projects. Grant and Alex volunteer as surf lifeguards with Orewa Surf Club. We also like relaxing with a movie for some quiet time.

    We live in a small town in a house amongst the trees with a big backyard of fruit trees and a big shed for all the tools! We have a lovely friendly neighbourhood on the river for swimming and playing in the water, only 30 minutes drive from Auckland city and 15 minutes from Orewa on the beach.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural area but close to Auckland city. There are beautiful nature trails and beaches close by as well as a short trip into Auckland which offers many cultural experiences. We live amongst the trees in a quiet town with friendly neighbours. There's opportunities to experience the beautiful nature, flora and fauna of New Zealand and arts and culture of Auckland city.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for friendly, fun, relaxed and hardworking couples to stay for 1-2 weeks.

    Most of the work is helping with landscaping and building/maintenance outside so would require some decent physical strength and fitness. Otherwise, help with playing/distracting the children while Alex does the cooking or working on the business would be great.

    Specifically we'd like help with:
    - Gardening - tidying, weeding, trimming and planting.
    - DIY/building - setting a new driveway - compacting stones, edging, laying hexagon mesh, filling with soil and planting grass. Concrete laying. Water pipe installation - all of these projects could be done alongside Grant.
    - Animal care - we have a 2 year old puppy who requires a walk twice a day so any help there would be appreciated (and training would be helpful!!).
    - Child care - Charlotte and Miller love to play and learn new things so any help with looking after our little ones while Alex can attend to business development and Grant can do maintenance would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bedroom in a large 3 bedroom house. Large private bedroom with queen bed and ensuite. The large house has well-appointed kitchen, large, light, living area which opens on to a sun-filled deck, spa pool and a large backyard with huge shed.
    We live in a hilly town only 5 minutes walk to the river.
    We eat breakfast together in the mornings about 7am where you can help yourself. Lunch is very casual when we're home and Alex usually helps make the kids lunch, or we make our own. Alex does the weekly dinner meal and Grant cooks on the weekends. We sometimes eat out at the local boat club as a family on weekends.
    There is a large shared bathroom with a shower (no bath I'm afraid!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we live in an area with no public transport, you will need your own car to get around. Within walking distance we have the Okura Bush Trail (through national park forest and beaches), a river for swimming and we have a double kayak for you to use.
    Locally, there is Orewa beach and walking/bike tracks. There is also Snowplanet where you can ski inside all year round. Silverdale adventure park is just up the road (6km car trip) where you can do the downhill luge and all kinds of adventures.
    30 minutes by car (or you can catch a bus from Silverdale which is a 10 minute drive from ours) into Auckland city where there's art galleries, shops, restaurants, museum, theatres etc. Cinemas are also within 20-30 min drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Grant and Alex
Miller enjoying time with Stompy
Our puppy Stompy
Stompy relaxing on the deck
Our backyard needs lots of work!
Charlotte having fun at the river
Pear tree climbing in the backyard

Host ref number: 482839374497