Help on an ecological rebuild, restore, recycle construction and art project near Boltenhagen, Germany.

  • Germany
  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 31 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    Jochen and friends run an ecological rebuild/restore/recycle construction and art project with garden and orchard. Its on the baltic coast, in an inconspicuous little village 20 km east of Lübeck and 6 km west of Boltenhagen. We invent a new approach or possibility for our building and nature projects almost every day and implement it as soon as possible. Our core competencies/ personal interests are self-sufficient living, sports (yoga, rebounding), back and breathing therapy plus multi-professional craftsmanship as wood- and mason workers, mechanic, restorer, interior- and industrial designer.

    We offer a lot of space, fresh fruit, 7 languages ​​(German -Jochen and Polish- Janusz- as mother tongues plus Catalan, English, French, Italian, Spanish), 800 meters to the quiet natural dream beaches - where we swim until october. There is a large canoe available, many bikes (some need help or design), morning yoga and rebounding to join us possibly, as well as trips to Hamburg were we may work and live 2-3 days from time to time in a historic factory building close to the river.

    You can become part of this project. You can help shape and follow up the old farmhouse restauration, rebuild and build multipurpose sheds and discover how permaculture works with construction and material. As well trees, shrubs and garden need every help. You can expand your and our knowledge of handling many materials. We prepare mostly vegetarian food together and in the evening we discuss the next day. Sometimes make a bonfire or dance. Work together or show you what to do and accompany you. And when the sun suddenly comes out we'll take a beach break. Every day is new. We see it and we talk about it.

    IMPORTANT: We are open to everyone who brings interest and wishes to learn. We look forward to basic knowledge, highly estimated if its more in the described areas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As introduced above we are interested in sharing our knowledge and abilities with you. Behind material and above we seek and find soul. If you want to join our breathing practice for example, - you'll see different things afterwards.

    We are working mainly with wood and metal but also with all other materials that are available in the large material store and workshops. Outside there are natural stones and conrete/clay to work with. There is no such thing as impossible.

    For us, it's about -how- you can build something so that it works well and for a long time and brings as much joy as possible. Resource-saving living in a small space has long been a topic and can be viewed and/or used and improved: three construction trailers and a workshop house to live in plus the old farmer’s house with clever innovations.

    Also can we show you around in beautiful nature and cultural surroundings, and celebrate life with local friends or our always lovely guests.

  • Help


    We need help with build/rebuild a shed and a wagon (tinyhouse-like), rebuild a kitchen, fruit preserving, develop a veggie garden and compost toilet and things close to this. Mostly all we do is within the permaculture vision. We are looking for open minded vivid people with manual skills, preferably coming from a craft profession or similar.

    Carpenters get paid!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Catalan: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We always love to learn and improve every of the above mentioned languages.

  • Accommodation


    You will live in an old farmer's house that is almost completely renovated. You'll have your private room and share kitchen and bathroom. We have a single and two double room. You will have your own fridge filled with your preferred stuff. We will cook minimum once a day together if you want to.
    Bicycles are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can swim, learn to surf or kite or do stand-up-paddling next door. You can explore one of the most beautiful coasts in Germany by bike (we provide it) or simply hike in enchanted forests. The classics of horse riding, golf and tennis are also around the corner.
    Also a city trip to Hamburg where you can stay with us and explore the city.

    Culturally, the Klützer Winkel offers a wide range of cultural activities in manor houses, castles and churches in the region: art exhibitions, concerts, architectural tours, organic farms to touch, wellness offers, the literature house in Klütz etc.

    You'll reach us via plane/train/bus, 100km from Hamburg, direction north/north/east

    As free as we are in thinking, we also have small rules: Do not disturb anyone more than necessary and respect the place, the people and what surrounds you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You can use quick wifi from your room. We'll find a table you can enjoy.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    behind the pond there is a flat area big enough for a campervan of 6 meters

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A dog is okay if it doesn't bark at every opportunity

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 481296696476

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join a young vegan couple and help us with our eco-friendly garden and DIY house renovation in Bad Segeberg, Germany
Looking for some kind animal-loving helpers on our small horse farm in northern Brandenburg, Germany