Help us build and run our floating project and boat repairs in Langkawi, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

updated  

Favourited 462 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    119

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Massimo, 62 years old, from Italian origin,I have been living abroad most of my life. My wife Judy is Malaysian with a Chinese background. We are getting close to the time of our retirement and we have decided to change our lifestyles. We have been involved in the repair of super yachts for the last 10 years and learnt a lot about how to construct and repair boats.
    A few years back we purchased a decommissioned Malaysian Police vessel and we are transforming it into a floating hostel anchored in Kilim Mangrove area in the Langkawi archipelago. We are 75% through the transformation and we are progressing through the change steadily.
    We need people interested in an outdoor lifestyle. You will are living with us on our floating home. If fishing, reading, cooking,kayaking and going to the beach are the things you like to do,then this is a good place for you to enjoy your free time. IF YOU ARE A PARTY ANIMAL THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOUpart of the island, need enthusiastic with good attitude ready to help us complete this project . If you are energetic, enthusiastic and ready to learn we will be happy to have you on board. We prefer people staying long term, minimum 4 weeks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are doing an extensive repair job and many skills can be learned.We are in the most beautiful part of the island,in the center of Kilim Mangrove. We are close pristine beaches, only accessible by boat or kayak. The water is very clean and there is much wildlife,birds monkeys,lizards otters fish etc
    We have been told by our previous workawayers ,that the food and drinks we supply are not bad.

  • Help

    Help

    Myself and my wife, over the last 2.5 years we have transform a 1972 Malaysian police wooden boat in to a floating hostel. We are looking for people to help us complete the task. need enthusiastic with good attitude ready to help us complete this project . If you are energetic, enthusiastic and ready to learn can be part of our team. Also we need some one to do all the media presentation of the boat.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared cabins on a small moored yacht or on the Police boat which is being renovated. We are also in the process of building rooms on the floating structure.We have a full kitchen facility, meals will be provided,however, we expect help with cooking and CLEANING in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time you can use the kayaks to explore the area and visit beaches, also can use our fishing equipment. You can also explore the rest of Langkawi,our boat will drop you off at 9am and pick you up at 6pm if you want a day seeing the rest of the island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have secure storage for the camper van or car

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week minimum 4 week stay

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.2)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.2)



















Host ref number: 478153118688