Assist with English practice at a Montessori school, in Bucharest, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an authentic Montessori school, in Bucharest, Romania, searching for native English speakers to serve as teachers assistants in the classrooms of children (6 to 11 yrs old) while helping out with the daily classrooms's chores. We look for German and Spanish natives, as well. The person commits for at least 3 or ideally 6 mo. We need such volunteers from mid September 2019 to mid June 2020, to come and go throughout the whole academic year. We understand that people depend on the travel plans. We offer breakfast, lunch and snacks and some daily allowance. The school serves organic vegan and vegetarian meals, prepared in our own kitchen. We offer a very good academic environment and personal development for the adults in the classrooms. Some happens as training on the job and some as extra seminars for teachers. We have full internationally trained Montessori teachers, AMI standard, the highest norms in Montessori. More details on us in the skype/video call/interview.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Romania is a Latin country with a mix of Latin and Balcan influences. We still have a lot of very authentic rural life outside of Bucharest, amazing arhitecture of the 19th century buildings, beautiful parks in Bucharest. Very inexpensive travel costs inside the country and a very interesting history which comes from our very special geographical position: amoung the Danube River, former big Russia and the border with the former Austro-Hungarian Kingdom. you can have lots of "aha" experiences . Usually, the foreigners who come here for a short stay end up with a long one or come back many times until eventually they settle in the country. Very friendly culture.

  • Help

    Help

    No previous teaching experience is needed. if you have experience we can pay a higher daily allowance. We need an energetic, though balanced person, positive and happy to interact with children both in the classroom and in the school yard and during meal times. Our children have regular English lessons but they miss the day to day informal conversations in all daily activities (not only in the classroom). We look for vocabulary improvments in daily rich conversations. During the classroom hours it will only be about their classroom activities and not much intervention is needed but still stuff can be done. We look for help mainly from noon (lunch included) till after noon when other activities are included, as well. But we are flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    flat or room in a villa by a nice lake. or I can offer accommodation in my house, next to our preschool program. I have an entire attic/mansarda (40 sqm) to offer. we eat organic food. I am vegetarian. however, my own 2 children (8 and 10) eat organic meat from time to time. Therefore, if need be, meat is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We, as a school, do have experience with guests and our culture in general here is a very friendly one. Romanians are very happy people, happy to accommodate foreigners . it is easy to get around and conversate in English (on the street in general I mean). German and French are spoken as well here by both the older generation and some young ones. Otherwise, in Bucharest, English is very easy to find. We can help with advice and means of transportation whenever possible if our guests want to travel and know the surroundings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 476821687445