Help with Gardening, fruit picking and Building in Abruzzo, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm based in the Netherlands at the moment. But bought a small olive grove and orchard in Abruzzo, Italy. .My main accomodation is a nice static caravan that sleeps 3-4 comfortably, but there are beds for up to 7. There's also room for tents and an old building with an openfire that needs saving. I have mains water but no electrics. There's a composting WC. When I needed internet I was able to use the wifi at a bar 500m away.
    It's a beautiful location 12 km from the Adriatic coast and 30 km from the mountains. Set amoungst the olive groves and vines.
    The nearest village is about 1.5km away and has a bank, post office, restaurant, minimarket and computer shop

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    In the last week or end of October 2016 I need help picking olives. In the future I have an old building which I'd like to save. I need to demolish a wall and rebuild it. It's a thick outside wall made of bricks. The roof will also need fixing..

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My main accomodation is a static caravan. Also there's room for some tents. There is also an old building with an open fire. In the future I want to rebuild it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Abruzzo is known to the Italians as 'Italy's Best Kept Secret', and is 60% national park. The olive grove is situated 12 km from the sea and 30km from the mountains. There is a small village about 1.5 km away with banks, bars, mini market, restaurant etc. The nearest bigger town is called Vasto and is about 16km away. Pescara which is 60 km away is a bustling city, Ryanair serves the airport of Pescara. From this airport it is easy to reach the main train station by bus. From there you can get a train to Casalbordino-Pollutri. If you are in Rome there are 2 bus companies that do frequent trips to Vasto, and . There is a bar 500m from the orchard where we could connect to their wifi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 475978636165