Help restoring our old house and garden and with the family and pets. Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bragleenbeg is a large house in a remote rural glen in the West Coast of Scotland. We are surrounded by hills, are bordered by a stream and a loch and have around 3 acres of land. We are in the process of splitting the house into 2 so are looking for people who like to help with decorating (painting, sanding, wall-paper stripping) OR people who don't mind spending time with the 3 children and the dog after school each day and doing household chores such as cleaning, clothes-washing, dusting etc. We have 4 chickens, 4 ducks, 10 ducklings! and a big dog.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful glen with lovely hill walks and fantastic views plus as much peace, fresh air and freedom from the daily grind as you could want. BEWARE - our broadband is not good enough to stream movies and there is NO cellular signal at all. Wi-fi is good enough for some calls and accessing the internet and downloads of large files can be done overnight.

  • Help

    Help

    Decorating - painting, sanding, woodworking.
    Housework - cleaning, dusting, hoovering, washing & ironing.
    Help with the children - keeping them entertained and engaged in outside activities where possible - after school from 4 - 7 each day.
    Gardening - weeding, lawn mowing, wood chopping.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 bedroom with own bathroom. The bedroom has a double bed and a single so it is possible for non-couples to share.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we are not isolated as we have near neighbours we are remote and the nearest shop / pub / post office etc are at least 8 miles away. You have to not mind peace and quiet. We are next to the loch and have a canoe and several boats and there is fishing and plenty of hills to climb !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 475613684777