Immerse in nature and organic vegetable growing in Radicondoli, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/04/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Beautiful organic estate in Tuscany with vineyards, waterfalls and land to be turned into vegetable farm. Newly acquired estate by a nature loving English family. Our goal over the years is to preserve the woodlands and create a nature reserve. Currently we have some vegetable gardens at our houses which we will enjoy at dinner times.

    We're looking for people who are passionate about nature, easy going, kind and hardworking to help us with gardening, permaculture, forest clearing, basic carpentry, foraging (especially with mushroom season approaching!). This is a unique experience to work on a very special and magical piece of land in Tuscany. Mum is a herbalist and experienced wild forager and permaculture gardener so there is lots of opportunity to exchange knowledge. We would love to welcome people who have skills they can share with us too about permaculture, syntropic farming, biodynamics and other holistic ways to tend the earth. As well as my mum Amanda the herbalist I (Anya) live here all year round working on the gardens and vegetable patches.

    We are a fun, young family who will enjoy team bonding over a bbq, glass of wine and reggae music whilst gazing over the Tuscan valleys. We have a beautiful home with a large wood fire pizza oven and stunning shared dining space.

    Volunteers will stay in our comfortable second farmhouse in their own bedroom with our lovely gardener Laetitia who will be leading projects and has had a lot of experience as a WOOFer herself.

    Our estate is right is very unique in its wildness and therefore is 45 minutes drive from the surrounding towns so helpers must have their own transport if coming for longer periods of time.

    On days off there is lots of hikes and walks around the site, waterfalls and wild swimming ponds to explore. The nearest village is Castelnuovo and Radicondoli which has some nice restaurants. Our neighbours at Tegoni have horse riding stables if you wish to ride horses or have sunset aperitivo in their safari tents.

    We look forward to welcoming you into the family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be a part of a fantastic opportunity to help us create a sanctuary in a wild, untouched part of Tuscany. Eat organic vegetables you grow yourself, learn to cook, bake and do wild foraging with our family. Mum is an intuitive herbalist who is happy to share her extensive knowledge about wild plants, foraging and tea making.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for helpers experienced in permaculture, agroforestry, gardening, foraging, carpentry, cabin and small home building.
    This summer our goal is to plant up our vegetable garden and poly tunnel.
    Workawayers to be helping on the land for around 4 hours per day, 4 or 5 days a week.
    The help can be physically demanding as it will be digging, planting, tilling, forest clearing.
    You should need to bring old clothes, strong shoes, and work gloves.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would be very happy if you can help us further our Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained, very comfortable Italian cottages or yurt camping is also an option

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hiking, foraging, learning authentic Italian cooking, visiting the nearby beautiful towns such as Siena, horse riding, enjoying the peace (it's very remote).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high speed internet and you will have your own desk space to do online working

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Must be approved first but open to you having your own camper van.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Must be approved first as we have our own dogs and animals here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 475172393481