Help with gardening and landscaping and enjoy a peaceful Tamborine Mountain stay in Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to travel plans, unable to host stays for the remainder of 2019 - feel free to inquire about 2020.

    Husband and wife team, Robert and Jackie, have been renovating an old home on Tamborine Mountain, which is about 45 minutes drive from one of the most popular tourist destinations in Australia - Queensland's sunny Gold Coast. At times we require assistance with a range of odd jobs around our home and gardening in our half acre garden. We can provide a comfortable room with a shared bathroom, toilet & all meals. The nearby village offers convenient shopping facilities, restaurants, cafes, bars, gift shops, wineries, rain forest hiking tracks, fresh water swimming and fortnightly weekend markets.

    Only suitable for a single person or a couple, as there is only 1 queen-sized bed in the room for Workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will benefit from their stay with: English language practice; insight into a multitude of Australian & New Zealand destinations from a couple who have traveled the length & breadth of both countries. The hosts have also visited - Alaska, Vancouver, Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park, San Francisco, Orlando, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Los Angeles, Oahu, Italy, Greek Islands, Turkey, Singapore, China & Fiji - and are always keen to hear travel stories from others. Travelers may use this location as a restful place to stop for a while as they immerse themselves into our peaceful way of life at our home upon our happy half acre; insight into life as a vegetarian/vegan; experience with sustainable garden practices and an insight into Australian life in a most beautiful mountain community.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening: No specific skills required - work with host for easy weeding, general improvements to landscaping, pruning and mulching of garden beds.
    Help in the House: General household duties such as vacuuming, mopping, dusting & a little deep cleaning could be required from time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently available to non-smoking Workaway workers is a comfortable room in the hosts home with shared bathroom & toilet. WiFi, TV and Netflix are available. The room is suited to just one person or a travelling couple. We are unable to accommodate 2 single travelers due to only having 1 queen-sized bed in the room. Vegan/vegetarian meals only provided.
    Regarding the length of a stay, hosts prefer visitors to stay for 1 week. Some flexibility is afforded depending on the individual circumstances of Workaway workers.
    There is only 1 queen-sized bed in the room for Workawayers, so it is only suitable for a single person or a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is very scarce, so travelers will need their own vehicle to get around the area. The hosts can initially collect Workawayers from the train station at Helensvale upon arrival if required, but general sightseeing off the mountain would be as per traveler's arrangements unless hosts are able to work it into their schedule - usually for Gold Coast trips. Hosts can assist with transportation for sightseeing/activities on Tamborine Mountain which include: hang gliding, zip lining, lush rain forest walks, waterfalls, breweries, wineries, bars, a great variety of restaurants and cafes, gift and souvenir shopping on the Gallery Walk, fresh water swimming and fortnightly weekend markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day (max 25 hours, 5 days a week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 474528533522

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more