Come and help our family and discover the beautiful city of Tarragona, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello guys,

    I present to you my family. At home we are 3: my partner (Albert), Lucas (my son) who is 7 years old and me (Sara).

    I am 38 years old, I am a social educator and I work in a social center with families in difficulty in Tarragona. In addition, I am a “storyteller” and I coordinate a social project to promote reading, in which we do storytelling and literature workshops. We have a caravan that we travel with, selling books and doing storytelling shows. If you would like you could come with us. I consider myself a kind, communicative, funny and creative person. I really like books, nature, travelling, dancing, mindfulnees, talking and crafts.

    Albert is 42 years old and works for a mobile phone company. He is very happy, he is vegan, he likes everything related to the vegetable patch and nature, he is very tidy, very creative and funny. Albert has a 14-year-old daughter from a previous relationship, who lives in Valencia. For this reason, Albert lives a few days in Valencia and others in our house in "La Secuita".

    Lucas is a very nice boy, he really likes basketball and outdoor activities. He is very affectionate and cheerful. As his father and me are separated, some days Lucas lives with his father in another town.

    We live in a small town (La Secuita) near Tarragona, 12km. It is a town where there is everything you need to live and it is surrounded by nature and beautiful landscapes, you can go everywhere by bike. There are many forests and paths to walk. You can also do different activities: zumba, pilates, yoga, horseback riding and much more. There is also a municipal swimming pool for the summer months and it is 15 minutes from the beach.

    Our house is quite big, with two floors and a garden. We also have a small vegetable garden where we grow our own vegetables. We have a trampoline to jump on and laugh on, a basketball hoop because we love to play basketball. We enjoy board games, cooking, outdoor excursions, getting to know new towns in the area, and watching movies together.

    After you have seen the most of our lovely town you can go to Tarragona which is just 12 kilometres away from our home. You can easily reach it with a bus nearby or I can drive you sometimes. When you arrive there, you can either relax at the one of the beautiful beaches, take some diving-classes, visit monuments or do other activities. In the evening (or also in the afternoon) you can grab one or maybe more drinks in one of the plenty bars in the city. ;) There you can find a lot of young people partying and having fun! Also, you can visit Barcelona, that is a 1 hour by train from our home.

    If you want to get more information about our family or the work, you can ask us anytime and we would love to receive message from you! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The lifestyle here. We are an active family, we really like doing outdoor activities and spending time together. We offer cultural exchange and I could teach Spanish, because while I was studying at the university I was teaching foreign students.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would especially like to do a language and culture exchange, to practice English. We also need help with some housework and with looking after Lucas. We also want the volunteer to help us with our cultural non profite association in the workshops.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would like to improve our english for travelling and comunicate wirh english friends. Lucas has a begginner level and we would like he discover an other culture and improve also his english.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single room with a bathroom to herself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near Tarragona, a beautiful city with lovely beaches. In our town there are lots of things to do also, like horse riding, jogging in the middle of the nature, trekking, activities like padel, zumba, swimming...They can go to Tarragona for the night activity or the beach or to try different restaurants, to visit the city, a world heritage city of Roman times. Lots of exciting and interesting things to do.
    We have friends in town who also participate in Workaway.
    In our town there are buses and a train to go to Tarragona or Barcelona.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 474321479428