Join our family helping on the farm in very picturesque Leighlinbridge, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a very picturesque setting surrounded by trees and countryside. The river Barrow bounds the property with the Barrow track ideal for walking enthusiasts beside. We have horses and sheep on our farm. we are looking for help on the farm and with general maintenance . If you want to learn and experience country way of life and to explore the ancient south east of Ireland, we would be delighted to host you. We are based 20 minutes from Kilkenny and 1.5 hours from Dublin. There are excellent public transport options ...bus and train close by.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunity to immerse yourself in an Irish horse farm. Great opportunity to experience and practise Irish set dancing and ceilidh dancing in the local village. Explore beautiful scenic countryside whilst close to transport to enjoy the south east coast, Dublin, Waterford and Kilkenny. Good accommodation, books, films, TV

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for active, engaged people to come and help .Ideally people who are positive , independently minded and curious who wish to learn more about horses and who enjoy country life. The work load includes helping to feed and care for mares and young thoroughbred horses. Help is also needed at times with maintenance in the yard and garden. I am located 1.5 hours southeast from Dublin, 20 minutes from Kilkenny city and 5 mins walk from local village. It is a very beautiful part of Ireland and there is excellent access to public transport. There are other workers so you will have company. The accommodation is warm and spacious. The hours are 25 per week with two days off. There is opportunity to receive payment for extra hours. Due to work commitments I am not always there so you will have full access to a well stocked and equipped kitchen. We try to eat together frequently with our students/ guests which is terrific opportunity to chat and catch up. There are many places to see and things to do locally and within easy reach on public transport. If you wish to travel further it is possible to arrange more time off with agreement in advance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own spacious comfortable room, share a bathroom with max 1 other. Use of fully fitted kitchen and sitting room. Can share family meals when possible. Good, ample food available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bikes available, canoes and dinghy to explore river. Over 25 with EU licence may be able to use car. Local bus stop 1km, train 3km. Local village 5 mins walk. Pubs, restaurant, set dancing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 473343235545