Help us with some organic gardening and to rehabilitate dogs for a local rescue in east Clare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 319 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    864

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, our small farm is located in a very rural and very nice part of east Clare, in the west of Ireland (not too far from the beautiful cliffs of Moher and filled with Irish trad music). Our smallholding Contains many animals including; dogs, cats, horses and poultry. We are avid amateur gardeners and love working on our plant filled gardens ( vegetable and flower). We also foster and rehabilitate dogs for a local rescue

    I love the outdoor life and have farmed and traveled for most of my life and my daughter is studying freshwater and marine biology in university. There are so many different types of jobs on the farm from carpentry to cutting brambles, gardening , playing soccer with the dogs, handling the horses and so many more! Although weather/season dependent, there is always something to do.


    The spare room in our house is always welcome to any adventurer wanting to share experiences and cultures.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With a multitude of knowledge about farming and animal care form my studies and life experience, I enjoy sharing this knowledge with you. We have had many types of animals on the farm from sheep to bees and although they may not be present on the farm anymore, the knowledge is passed on. We take the time to explain and love to share 'life'stories of travel etc. and our area is filled with lots of artists, musicians and alternative farming. We love languages and enjoy aiding in the improvement of one's level of English if desired.

  • Help

    Help

    There is organic gardening, weeding, preparing flower and seed beds. Grooming, training and exercising the horses and dogs. General farm upkeep work such as painting, mending fences and gates etc. Collecting eggs, feeding and cleaning the chicken area. Pruning trees, cutting wood, making bird boxes, looking after the ponds, strimming grass/rushes etc.
    At the moment I need help with handling the animals; walking the dogs and riding the horses in particular. A good knowledge of horses and a competent level of riding experience is recommended but not required.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A spare room in a modern house with plenty of space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of lakes and bogs here, it is a fisherman's and hiker's paradise. The nearest village Tulla is about 7Km away. Clare is widely known for its traditional music and our village is no different.
    We will happily accommodate you when you want to plan a trip to the Burren, cliffs of moher etc. It is also a great location to easily access Galway, Connemara etc.
    A mature attitude and and genuine interest is all that is needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 472913288358