Help at our mountain hut in Gran Canaria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 407 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    206

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Nicola. I came from Switzerland to Gran Canaria 6 years ago. Here I first worked as a volunteer in a hostel and then as hiking guide until I decided with other friends to create a staffed mountain hut in the heights of Agaete. The building in which we established the refuge was the former village school, located at the foot of an impressive cave settlement, a place of extraordinary ethnographic interest, although still not properly known and studied. Here, in the past times, fishermen from the coast and peasants from the mountains used to barter their products. From here a vast network of trails led the travelers to every corner of the island. Due to its exceptional landscape (in front of the Tamadaba forest and overlooking the Valle de Agaete until the sea), its natural resources, its strategic position as a door between the coast and the highest peaks (Cumbre) of Gran Canaria, it looked the perfect location for us to create a facility inspired on the mountain huts already existing in other parts of the Archipelago.

    We are driven by an idea of tourism rooted into Gran Canaria's culture, history and people, that make it possible for tourists and locals to meet, supplying travellers with cultural tools in order to understand the area they are in and orient themselves in their excursions. A form of tourism that, we believe, might also become a trigger of economic development in this rural part of northern Gran Canaria that has been increasingly losing inhabitants due to the decline of the agricultural sector.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested in spending some time here with us, partly working and partly enjoying what the place has to offer, please contact us and tell us something about yourself and your skills. We need enthusiastic and serious (enthusiasm and reliability are far more appreciated here than skills) people willing to get involved in the project we are trying to accomplish. People who are interested in coming here have to know that we live in an isolated place, although beautiful. The fun is living the day by day life of the rural hotel, getting to know local people, having a deeper insight in Gran Canaria culture. We can also help you with your Spanish if learning Spanish is your goal.

  • Help

    Help

    The main restoration works are done, but still there is a lot of things to do such as making furniture, decorating, promoting our facility on internet... Beside that, we need help with the day by day chores.

    Long term regularly registered paid job is also an option after a period of volunteering in the hotel-bar cafeteria. If you are interested, tell us before coming.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a bed in the facility (dorm) and three meals a day. The house has wi-fi, common spaces for relax and reading, a big sunny terrace.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We only host one helper at a time.
    The preferred minimum stay is two weeks. Longer stays are also possible after a two weeks trial.
    The helping hours per day are typically 5 (five days a week). When you are not helping, you are nonetheless expected to keep the house clean, as you would do in your own house.
    In this particular phase in which we haven't yet fixed definite patterns, timetable flexibility on your part will be highly appreciated. Please, if you are interested, contact us by e-mail, using one of these languages: Spanish, English, French, Italian.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.0)





Host ref number: 472761583725