Live with the Bedouins in Wadi Rum desert

Country

Jordan

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/06/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    603

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone! We are a very laid-back family looking for some spare hands to help us in our everyday life. We live half of the year in Jordan and other half in Finland. During the Jordan months we'll be needing a helping hand. (We are usually in Jordan approximately 2-3 months at a time.) I'm from Finland and my husband is a local Jordanian Bedouin. We have a daughter, who is now 3 years old. We live in a small Bedouin village called Wadi Rum. It's an amazingly beautiful valley right between two big mountains and in the heart of Wadi Rum desert. We have a local style house with few rooms (you would have your own room) and a yard that surrounds our house. In our backyard grows lemon tree, vine grapes, olive tree and some fresh mint, that we use in our morning tea. We live pretty relaxed and stress-free life in an authentic Bedouin village. We don't have any specific timetables, we do the things based on feeling, get up when the rooster sings (or later) and lay our heads down when feeling sleepy. My husband's family still live in a traditional Bedouin way in their tents made of goat hair. They have goats, camels, donkeys, chicken and they get their water from the mountains. Bedouins (and Jordanians in general) are very kind, helpful and welcoming people. It is easy to get along with them.

    *️️️NOTE*️️️ At the moment we are out of country and don't know yet when we will be back 09/2017 -->

    Ill edit this when we shall need help again :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity to learn about the bedouin culture and be part of their day to day lives with the help and support of half European family (i'm from Finland and my Husband is a local Bedouin). We'd love to show you around the desert and tell you about the local life. Locals speak arabic but most of them can also speak english. I (Marianne) speak finnish, english and spanish and i get along with arabic somehow ;). You might also want to improve your language skills in case you'd like to learn/enhance one of these languages mentioned above. All in all, it's an experience that is hard to find anywhere else...

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for somebody who is responsible, trustworthy and loves children. I'm a stay home mother but my hands get sometimes rather full and I would love to get some extra hands (and company :)) to help me out a bit. The main task of the volunteer would be looking after our 1,5-year-old daughter.

    NOTE. As the task is mainly taking care of our daughter, we would prefer that the volunteers wouldn't change too often. This why we are hoping that you could stay weeks, even months (max. stay is around 2-3 months, because then we will be heading back to Finland).

    The volunteer would also take apart to some light housework i.e. Setting the table, making something easy for breakfast/snack, do the dishes sometimes, sweep a bit, help me prepare food etc. - basically something easy what you might do if you were staying for a long period of time with friends. We don't take too much stress of the housework and i would just be happy if you helped me sometimes :) We'd like you to help us approx. 5 hours per day. 5 days/week, weekends free.

    BUT it may be possible to extend your helping hours and in return of your hours, we would provide you with the following tours during your stay:
    - Full Day 4W-jeep tour (5-6hrs), covers the most important places in Wadi Rum desert, includes the ticket to the Wadi Rum protected area,
    - Full Day tour to Am Addaami mountain: easy hiking to the highest mountain of Jordan (4-6hrs),
    - Full Day tour, hiking/scrambling to Bordah bridge, up in Bordah mountain + other stone arches
    - Short camel tour,
    - A night (or many) under the starry desert sky (value: Priceless!)

    And i can promise that the tours are really amazing! Anyhow, It is an easy and light work, and to be honest, most of it would probably just be hanging around with me, gossiping and drinking tea as we usually do with our western guests! PS. There has been many girls (from finland, brazil, norway, austria, australia...) staying with us in Wadi Rum for several days and weeks, so if you would like to get in touch with them, i could ask them. Due to cultural reasons, we prefer that the volunteer is a female, this way I can take her everywhere - also to women's side. Unfortunately a man, who is not part of the family (brother or uncle) cannot enter to Bedouin women's side. A western girl (including me) can enter to men's side since we have different cultural backgrounds :>

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    finnish, english, spanish, arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Homestay. You would have your own room in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Jordan in general is very safe place to travel - Wadi Rum is even safer. I can walk at any time of the day or night in the village (or desert) and still be safe. It's a small village and all the people know each other. It's a one big family. Wadi Rum is divided in red, white and black desert, it is very vast and there is plenty to see and experience! 1 hour away from Wadi Rum is the city of Aqaba. A minibus goes (and returns) there daily - excepted on fridays. In aqaba there are plenty of restaurants, shopping possibilities and of course the sea. Another city close by is the beautiful ancient city of Petra. It's only two hours away and there is also bus connection between Wadi Rum and Petra.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 472613987153