Learn forestry in the mountains and stay in your own 1bdrm cottage in Oakland, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 47 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Come hang out and get stuff done! Our home is in Oakland and we have an 11 acre property in the mountains at 7,000 feet.

    March to mid-June, September-December: Stay in our Oakland cottage where we homeschool our 6 year old son.
    From mid-June to mid-October: Stay on the mountain (either our pop up camper or your own setup) and help with forestry.

    Note: We'll try things out for a week and if everyone is happy with each other then you're welcome to stay longer.

    Our Oakland home has been called a little slice of country in the city. We've got a big yard, chickens, lots of plants and a small vegetable garden. While here, you'll have a 1 bedroom cottage all to yourself. We'll need help with homeschooling (not babysitting - we will provide you with materials and will be home to help), light yardwork, weeding and keeping up the garden. Generally just helping us maintain the place - mundane help but so very helpful to us.

    (A note about the seasons: our mountain property is covered in deep snow, so we'll start working there again in summer 2023). About 1-2x a month we head to our mountain property where the fun stuff happens. This gorgeous spot is 11 acres in the high country at 7,000' elevation. Just as breathtaking as Tahoe and Yosemite but with a fraction of the crowds. The forest is overgrown and we have a lifetime of fire suppression ahead of us. Help us de-ladder the trees, thin the forest, chop some wood. This would be a camping situation, and we have a pop-up trailer to stay in should you need it. The property has a well and composting toilet.

    About you: Patient, willing to put in some help, respectful of our home, open-minded, and animal- and outdoor- lover. Families are welcome as we would love to expose our kids to other cultures and languages.

    About us: We are a family of four with two cats, one dog, and several chickens. We are all creative in our unique ways. Jules, age 8, is a prolific artist. Pasqual, age 6, plays with clay and designs video game levels. Lewis is a musician by night and works in tech by day. Ginger dips her toes in a lot of mediums and does financial coaching and planning for creatives.

    Cultural exchange: We have enjoyed the new perspectives that travelers bring and hope to share ideas and stories with the people we host! Join us for a camping trip, share a meal, play some video games or just hang out after the day is done.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    See what it’s like to live in the San Francisco Bay area, and explore the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains without the crowds.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Families welcome! Homeschooling help is preferred, but we are open to a lot of different ways to contribute. For instance, with the outdoors: keeping up the garden, sweeping, organizing, and picking up after family activities. The laundry machines are in the cottage so running our laundry makes sense. We would also appreciate if you could come up to the mountain property with us every couple of weeks to help with some forestry such as removing tree branches, cutting down overgrowth, and - if you are comfortable - some light chainsaw work.

    We don't expect more than maybe 2-3hrs/day of help at our Oakland home. We'll give you a list of ways to help. Just get your tasks done by 2pm and you're golden. There's plenty to do at our mountain property. You could put in 4-5hrs of help/day there easily!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Colorful one bedroom cottage. Happy to include you in our meals which we cook at home about 70% of the time. Pitching in to help with cooking would also be welcome. If staying at our mountain property, that's more of a camping situation. We can provide you with camping equipment. The property has a well and composting toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a 10min walk from the local BART station which can take you to many places throughout the bay area. If traveling by car we are only 11 minutes from downtown San Francisco. There are lots of public options here (carshares, rideshares, scooter and bike shares). If working at our property, you are welcome to borrow our truck. It's a manual transmission, so if you want to use it you need to know how to drive a stick shift. Our mountain property is right between Lake Tahoe and Yosemite. Similarly beautiful with a fraction of the crowds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fiber internet available at our Oakland home. We both work remotely. The mountain property has usually 1-2 bars of At&t service, and we are considering adding wifi service. (Adding a cell reception booster summer 2023)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    These are welcome but only in the summers at our 11acre mountain property which is 3 hours from our home in the Bay Area. The property has a well and composting toilet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 471464257665

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn about the restoration of an 1890s Victorian cottage in Portland, Oregon, USA
Enjoy a pecan orchard, nearby springs and rivers and spiritual centers from beautiful traditional cracker house in Florida, USA