updated  

Help turn a small farm into a pedagogical visitor center and organic farm, in Arcos De Valdevez, North Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 183 times
  • Last activity: 04/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    JUST COUPLES/WOMENS (25-55)

    We intend to make our space a center for visits to animals of various species.
    Nature and recreational activities with people of all ages.
    5km from Vila dos arcos de Valdevez, in the parish of Vale, this project that started in 2017 with the production of snails, is currently being transformed into organic vegetable production, where we also have an expanding pedagogical farm, sheep, ducks, chickens and pigs, with 1ha.
    If you want to find peace through nature, its sounds and its daily offers, this is a perfect place.
    Possibility to meditate and take walks in nature.
    Newly arrived from Porto, Miguel, INEM technician, 39 years old, Mónica who dedicates herself full time to the agricultural project, 34 years old, Diogo and Martim federated in the football club of arcos, 8 and 5 years old, love nature and animals.
    Nature and outdoor sports fans.

    Pretendemos fazer do nosso espaço um centro de visitas a animais de variadas espécies.
    Atividades de natureza e lúdicas com pessoas de todas as idades.
    A 5km da Vila dos arcos de Valdevez, na freguesia do Vale, este projeto que iniciou em 2017 com uma produção de caracoletas, encontra-se neste momento em transformação para produção biológica de hortícolas, onde temos Também uma quinta pedagógica em expansão, ovelhas, patos, galinhas e porcos, com 1,5ha.
    Se quer encontrar a paz através da natureza, os seus sons e suas ofertas diárias, este é um local perfeito.
    Possibilidade de meditar e fazer passeios na natureza.
    Recém chegados do Porto, Miguel, técnico do INEM, 39anos, Mónica que se dedica a tempo inteiro ao projeto agrícola, 34anos, Diogo e Martim federados no clube de futebol dos arcos, de 8 e 5 anos, adoram a natureza e os animais.
    Adeptos de desportos de natureza e ar livre.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a traditional Portuguese family who lived in a large city (Porto) and moved without fear for a calm environment, in the middle of nature, in one of the most beautiful areas of Portugal.
    With us you will have the opportunity to know everything about snails, their development, feeding, reproduction, etc, how to produce healthy and organic food, learn the routines of our sheep, chickens, ducks, pigs and rabbits.

    Conosco terão a oportunidade de saber tudo sobre os caracóis, seu desenvolvimento, alimentação, reprodução, etc, aprender sobre produção de alimentos saudáveis biológicos, conhecer também as rotinas das nossas ovelhas, galinhas, patos, porcos e patos.
    Somos uma família tradicional portuguesa que viveu numa grande cidade (Porto) e mudou-se sem receios para um ambiente calmo, no meio da natureza, numa das zonas mais belas de Portugal.
    Os nossos filhos estudam na Vila dos arcos de Valdevez.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for volunteers with GOOD PHISICAL condition.

    Couples and Girls between 25-55years willing to learn and work.

    Maintenance of the farm, taking care of the animals and feeding, creating infrastructures to house more animals, cutting firewood, land clearing, cutting vegetation, planting, digging, organic farming, horticulture production.
    We won't be asking for any help related to the snail business.

    Procuramos voluntários com BOA CONDIÇÃO FÍSICA.
    Casal/mulheres entre 25 e 55 anos, com vontade de aprender e trabalhar.

    Tarefas: manutenção da quinta, cuidar dos animais e alimentar, criação de infraestruturas para alojar mais animais, cortar lenha, limpar o terreno, corte de ervas, agricultura biológica,cultivar hortícolas e outros produtos agrícolas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a caravan with 2 beds, kitchen, accommodation for up to 2 people.
    Possibility of camping with provision of tents and everything necessary for comfortable accommodation.
    Guaranteed accommodation and 3 meals for those who work 5h day.
    It is not part of the food we provide, alcoholic beverages, juices or soft drinks.

    You should bring working shoes and clothes.

    Laundry is done once a week.

    Disponibilizamos caravana, equipada, 2 camas, cozinha, até 2 pessoas.
    Possibilidade de Campismo com fornecimento de tendas e tudo o que é necessário a um confortável alojamento.
    Alojamento e e 3 refeições garantidas para quem trabalhar 5h por dia.
    Não faz parte da alimentação que fornecemos, bebidas alcoólicas, sumos ou refrigerantes.

    Deves trazer botas e roupa de trabalho.
    Temos máquina de lavar roupa, podem usar uma vez por semana.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses every day from lisbon, OPorto, Braga, Viana do Castelo, to Arcos de Valdevez, twice a day.

    We like to hiking in the montain, bike rides, river closer one 300m and another 2000m.

    Há autocarros todos os dias de Lisboa, Porto, Braga, Viana do castelo, para os Arcos de Valdevez, duas vezes por dia.

    Gostamos de caminhadas na montanha, andar de bicicleta.
    Temos dois rios perto, um a 300m outro a 2000m.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space, with beautiful views and a lot of magical places to visit. Bathroom, electricity, water and wi-fi.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours / 5days weeks

Host ref number: 595362866894

Feedback (15)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

















Stay in northern Portugal and help us in all kind of works in a farm.
Join us on our permaculture farm and help take care of the animals and with daily chores in Relva Grande, Portugal