Help with our renovation project - an old 1800's building into a small guest house in Valparaiso, Chile

Country

Chile

new host  

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two friends, James and Evelyne. James is originally from Texas and Evelyne is from the south of Chile and grew up in Valparaíso. We recently have undertaken a renovation project in an old 1800's building in the center of historic Valparaiso to convert the third floor into a guest house and event center.
    The house is located just a few blocks from the main square so transportation is very easy.
    At the moment it's very basic; our objective is to clean, paint, furnish, decorate, and anything else that's included in the scope of preparing a now unoccupied flat into a welcoming space for guests. Amenities will improve as we work; at the moment we have beds (possibly in private rooms since we have 9 rooms in total), hot water, a basic kitchen space, wifi, electricity, lights, etc.
    We'll provide your food and drink during your stay.
    We'll also be happy to help you get to know Valparaíso, relax and converse in English or Spanish, and help you get to know Chile better.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're happy to help you get to know Valparaíso better, to enjoy typical Chilean food and drink, and learn from our combined experience of Chile as a foreigner and a local. We can help you improve your spanish if needed and help you find other fascinating places in Chile to continue your journey.

  • Help

    Help

    Anyone who is willing to help with general house renovation is welcome. Specifically we'll be cleaning floors and walls of dust, repainting, building bunk beds and furniture, and various other things along those lines. We'd be especially happy if you have previous experience in carpentry, but it's not required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The apartment has 9 bedrooms. We'll arrange one for your arrival; bed, electricity, wifi, and shared bathroom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 468574657274