Live with our family on an island and help with renovating, gardening and babysitting in Senoren, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small international family living on an island at the south coast of Sweden. My partner Johan is Swedish, I (Simone) am from Germany, and we have a 2,5 year old daughter, Maya. With us are living 2 cats - Misse and Nala.

    For us, being in nature and living in harmony with it is super important, we eat as much as possible ecological food and love to be outdoors hiking, kayaking, biking, tenting. Simone is working as a project leader for sustainable tourism at the Blekinge Archipelago biosphere reserve and Johan works with IT. Simone loves doing yoga and meditations, Johan enjoys working with his hands in the free time.

    We are having a huge garden of 4000 square meters and our house is only 5 minutes located from a sandy beach and a meddow with old oak trees. There is only 200 people living on our island "Senoren" and we don´t see our neighbours, only horse fields and cows. Around us are lots of other islands included in the Blekinge Archipelago biosphere reserve that you can discover with one of our kayaks or even by public boat or bus. There is lots of nature reserves around that are lovely for hiking or biking.

    In our garden we have a small vegetable batch that we try to grow using permaculture methods and lots of fruit trees and bushes. There is always something to do to maintain our beautiful garden in during spring, summer and autumn and we would love an extra hands or two for that. :) After the summer we are planning to renovate the second floor of our old wooden Swedish house and we could appreciate help with that (my husband is very skilled in carpentry, but can need extra support). Our happy little daughter Maya also enjoys when there is lots of people playing with her :)

    On our land there is another smaller Swedish tree house where you can live and have some privacy. It contains water and an own kitchen, but no toilet or shower. That you share with us in our house.

    In your freetime you can discover the closest city, Karlskrona, which is 35 min bus ride away. It is a world heritage naval city located on several islands and has restaurants, cinema, shops,...

    Since it is very silent here, staying at our place is especially suitable for couples or friends travelling together. We are often working from home, though, so you will not be lonely even if you come by yourself. Being here surrounded by nature and the sea is definitely a way to slow down and we are trying that as good as we can ourselves in the busy lives while balancing work, gardening, and being with our little treasure Maya.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to give you a glimpse of typical swedish life on an island - we will introduce you to some swedish food and traditions like "fika" (eating cake and coffee). Also we would love to share our nature love, maybe cook on the open fire or go kayaking with you (we are kayak instructors, so beginners will be save too).
    We would love to taste your local food and hear about your life and dreams.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    After the summer we would really need help with the renovation that we are planning upstairs. We are transforming the two rooms we have now into three. Changing the floors and the walls. So if you have some carpenter skills it would be amazing.
    Alternatively you could help babysittning our daughter so we have a little spare time for renovation. And cooking food would really be appreciated. :)
    Additionally there will be projects to do in the garden such as harvesting, sawing new vegetables, helping us filling a permaculture "high frame", cutting bushes,.... We are really beginners in gardening, so all advice are very welcome... ;)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own swedish cabin with bedroom, living room and kitchen. It is simple but cosy. It has running water and (electric) heating. There is no toilet in the house though. You are welcome to use our toilet or the outdoor compost toilet. The bathroom with shower and bathtub and washing machine you can use in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus station 18 min walk away from our house. The bus goes to the main town Karlskrona every hour on weekdays and 4 time per day on weekends. There is even a boat to town from the neighbour island.
    Otherwise it is very silent here on the island and activities are mainly being in nature (no restaurants or bars after the summer). There is a supermarket 20 min walk away from our house with everything you need. You are welcome to eat with us if we are home, otherwise we provide you with ingredients to cook by yourself. We would appreciate if you can be responsible for cooking maybe one of the meals per day for all of us.
    During the week we are working, Simone is free on Wednesdays. Maya is home from pre-school from 3pm and then Simone is free too.
    We would love to spend a time togehter with you (dinner together, working together, being in the garden together, playing board games...) but also need some time by ourselves. We can be a bit tired after a work day and until Maya is finally sleeping (around 8:30pm). So it is great if you also like taking some "own" time on some of the evenings like reading or going for a walk in nature by yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 467875681447