Help with gardening, maintenance and around the house in Middletown, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a household of three – father and daughter, and a roommate friend-of- the-family, plus two cats, Mikolo and Athusa – living in a small suburban home on five acres of land outside of Middletown, Connecticut, halfway between NYC and Boston. We have a barn, a field tennis court, a performance deck in the woods, a frog pond, fruit trees, and a stream emptying out of a lake that is eight minutes away by foot. Directly in the backyard next to the house, a clubhouse, two tent decks, a screen tent, a tether-ball pole, and a small vegetable garden. It's ideal for people who like to be outdoors!

    The father is an independent artist and musician who has taught sculpture, architecture, music, and art history in universities in the USA, Germany, and Japan. His primary focus over the past twenty-five years has been on bird sound, but he also speaks fluent German, some Japanese, and can understand a bit of Dutch, French, Italian and Spanish. Tennis and swimming are major pastime activities for father and daughter, who also spends time writing novels and playing music.

    Our current friend-of-the-family roomate is an independent writer and playwright, a long-time student of Zen and Noh drama, an enthusiast gardener, student of permaculture, and a budding kombucha maker. When not here, she's at a Zen Monastery in the Catskills or a Zen temple in NYC. She is studying German and Japanese, and is a life-long friend of Japanese culture.

    During the summer, there are a few musical events here, but in general, we try to use the time for renovating the barn, doing art, music and building projects, gardening, landscaping, foraging, and clearing brush. There's lots to do, but it's a beautiful place to work and play, hike, play tennis, swimming, paddle boarding and boating etc.

    Middletown downtown, which has many shops, good restaurants, bookstore, and world-class Wesleyan University, can be reached by car in 5-10 minutes, or by bike in 15 minutes. We have bicycles of all sizes. We are 25 minutes by car from Hammonassett Beach on the Long Island Sound and a bit over an hour away from beaches on the Atlantic.

    Our house guests have a choice of living inside or out on tent decks not far from the house, or further back along the stream and in the woods. One of the main projects underway here is to develop part of the barn as a living space, alongside performance spaces and workshop.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a globally-oriented household with an eclectic variety of skills that I've enumerated in the longer description: carpentry, gardening, sculpture, architecture, music, languages, writing, and so on. Anyone interested in any of these will also have great exposure to the interrelationship between them. Anyone interested in New Music or otherwise, will have ample opportunity to both learn and play.

  • Help

    Help

    I've checked the major needs above, but other things on the list are certainly useful, such as help with computers, gardening, cooking, and help in the house. Probably, the most important item is having basic carpentry
    and building skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German (fluent speaking and writing); Japanese (rusty)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have both an indoor bedroom and, in warm weather, two 10'x10' tents on platforms. Workawayers can take their choice depending on the weather. We are also largely a vegetarian household (occasional fish or chicken). We're happy to share our food but don't have consistent or formal mealtimes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Middletown has plenty of good restaurants, a movie theater, shops, Wesleyan University with its own cultural opportunities, hiking trails, a major river for boating, and any number other activities. Middletown, CT is not far from beautiful beaches, NYC and Boston. Transportation is not the best, but buses are available to get to outlying areas and train service. Because we live in a kind of "resort" atmosphere here on the outskirts of town, we also don't always need to go anywhere for entertainment!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 466863829446