Travel with us! Full Season Pass Ticket, Camping, Travel and all meals INCLUDED for Woodford Folk Festival in Queensland!

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy blended family of 6. Elizabeth and Tom, with Elizabeth's 2 kids full time aged 13 and 10 and Tom's 2 kids half time aged 13 and 18.

    We live in a beautiful area of Northern NSW halfway between the Gold Coast and Byron Bay (40min in each direction). We are on 8 acres with a lovely creek. There is a quaint village nearby with General Store and cafe. Beaches 15 minutes away.

    Elizabeth's 10 year old boy is named Bodhi and he is diagnosed with High Functioning Autism. He is a VERY energetic young lad. He communicates well and can manage his own self care. This year he has been home schooled due to his behaviours at school, he has suffered from anxiety which has presented as ADHD. When left to entertain himself Bodhi can get himself into mischief. However when someone is focussed on him and engaged in activities fully with him he is a great kid and lots of fun. He needs a helper to always suggest ideas of things to do and do the activities with him. Bodhi loves playing music, riding his bike, playing with his chickens, collecting and selling their eggs, doing craft and iPad games.
    This has been a pretty demanding job on Elizabeth over the past 12 months and she is becoming exhausted with managing him as well as the day to day running of the house - cleaning, cooking (Bodhi has a special diet-GF, DF + more), laundry etc.

    We are looker for a helper to get to know Bodhi at our home over the next week or so before we depart on an epic adventure to Woodford Folk Festival in Queensland. We will pay for your ticket, accommodation, camping supplies and all meals in exchange for your fun engagement with Bodhi throughout the Festival. See more detailed info below.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience one of the biggest festivals in Australia that is a truly inclusive and wonderful environment. The community at Woodford Folk Festival is very friendly and welcoming and you will not only bond with us, your host family, but will likely meet lots of other wonderful people as well.
    Our home is in a very beautiful part of Australia half way between the Gold Coast and Byron Bay (40min in each direction). We would be happy to assist you with exploring this naturally diverse area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an energetic person, happy and friendly and non-judgemental. Someone who enjoys nature and the outdoors. Someone you likes to play and have fun. You will have some experience with kids and preferably kids who can be WILD. You have NO FEAR of kids and are able to be firm, yet fun when needed. You might have worked with kids before or come from a large family where you gained confidence in supervising younger siblings. You are self motivated and able to take initiative to get jobs done as you see them. If something needs cleaning up or putting away you just know how to do it without being shown. You might like to share your language with the kids and bond over teaching them a few words and phrases, and we would love for you to practice your English with us and ask as many questions as you like about Australia. Tom and Elizabeth have travelled extensively throughout Australia and can give you lots of travel tips. We would like you to feel a part of our family and enjoy yourself while you are with us.

    NO GARDEN MAINTENANCE REQUIRED.

    At the house in the lead up to Christmas Day we require some help with Bodhi 1 - 2 hours per day of getting to know him, entertaining and engaging with him.
    Other duties will include cleaning, cooking and helping with packing and preparing for trip to Woodford.
    This time at the house leading up to Christmas Day will require 5 hours per day.
    The 4 days BEFORE Christmas Day all the kids will be with their other parents (including Bodhi) you will have 2 free days in this time and 2 days of approx 4 hours cleaning, shopping and helping us prepare for the trip to Woodford. We have friends minding the house while we are gone so we want it clean for their arrival.

    On Christmas morning we will collect all the kids from their other parents and travel to Woodford Folk Festival in 2 vehicles with a trailer. It is about a 3 hours drive. *️️️*️️️YOUR TICKET, CAMPING PASS, TENT, TRAVEL and ALL MEALS AT WOODFORD ARE INCLUDED VALUED AT $850+*️️️*️️️

    Upon arrival we will all work together to set up our camp for the next 9 days. During this set up you will assist us OR take Bodhi off to explore the site and keep him occupied. This is where your time with him prior to travelling will be rewarded as we hope that he has bonded with you enough to see you as his buddy during Woodford.

    You will have your own tent and access to all our equipment during the event. Onsite facilities are provided for toileting and showering. This is a VERY BIG festival with fantastic performers and activities to engage in. Check out their website at

    During our time together at Woodford we ALL want to enjoy ourselves for the duration, including you. There are literally activities on offer for all ages from 6am - 2am every day of the program (6 days). In this environment Bodhi will be super active and busy. We would like you to engage with him in having fun and exploring the festival together, we envision that you will spend about 4-5 hours per day hanging out with Bodhi. These 5 hours could be broken up with intervals between if there are things you wish to do that don't clash with what we are doing. We can sit and plan our days the evening before based off the program. There is also a kids festival area where Bodhi may spend some time and a night time chill out area for kids which we might use as well if he enjoys that. Some nights you might stay back at the tent area with Bodhi as he sleeps to supervise him. There will also be some duties around the camp (when Bodhi is elsewhere) tidying up, preparing meals, shopping (there is a supplies store nearby), etc. we will all pitch in together :-)

    So all up during Woodford there will be about 5 hours per day (as exchange for your ticket, accommodation, meals etc) however we hope that you will not look at this as work, but rather having a great fun time with Bodhi and us and any new friends you make. There are a few music acts that Bodhi is really looking forward to - The Waifs, The Cat Empire, Xavier Rudd - and we look forward to sharing those shows with him too. So we will also be very engaged with Bodhi as well throughout the festival. There will be some nights where we might like to go and see something for adults only, which is when we would get you to do a different show with Bodhi or maybe stay at the tent.
    We will all work together to ensure that it is fair for all.

    After Woodford ends (2nd Jan) Elizabeth will travel home with the kids while Tom stays behind to pack up. You may like to stay behind and assist Tom and travel back with him, or travel back with Elizabeth.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are looking for someone to move in asap. You will have your own little cabin room away from the main house. Sharing bathroom and kitchen etc in main house. Free wifi. We are located in Upper Burringbar in Northern NSW, about half way between Queensland Gold Coast and Byron Bay (40 min in each direction N + S). We are on 8 acres with a nice creek. We have 2 Labrador dogs and 4 chickens.
    NO GARDEN MAINTENANCE REQUIRED.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is a little isolated so your own car would be good or we could possibly drop you off in places if you wish to have a look around. We are happy to include you in our day to day lives and we are often busy coming and going so happy for you to tag along or get a ride with us to somewhere near where we are going.
    There are beautiful beaches about 15 minutes away and we often take the dogs over for a walk on the beach. There are quaint villages and towns around this lovely area to explore as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Tom (in hat) w Rosie (23), Lilly (18) and Finn (13)
Bodhi is a funny kid :-)
Finn & Arielle (both 13) :-)
Bodhi with our Labrador dogs Bob & Coco
Tom & Elizabeth kayaking in nearby creek
Bodhi & Arielle at a beautiful nearby beach
Bodhi selling his eggs out the front
Finn & Arielle (both 13) off on a jungle adventure
Tom & Elizabeth with Bodhi in the background at a music festival
Elizabeth & Bodhi at Ed Sheeran concert
Host ref number: 465549132816