Help with fencing, tree felling, chipping, small building projects, maintenance and help with animals on our farm in Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 95 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    248

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and i live on a working farm with 8 horses and working pyrenees dogs. We also have 4 house dogs one of which is a working collie. 5 cows and 20 sheep. We live in rural saskatchewan 40 minutes from the nearest town. We have nearly 1000 acres this is Not an acreage. We immigrated to Canada from the uk 7 years ago. We love the way of life here laid back and relaxed. Lots of wildlife to see and appreciate. Our children are grown up we have 2 boys still in UK and our youngest now lives in a small village 15 minutes away. We have traveled quite a lot to various destinations on holiday. There is always something to do with new challenges and every day is different. There is buffalo and elk farms nearby lots of lakes and we still have a drive in movie theatre!

    Spring is a very busy time for us, clearing up after the winter and preparing the animals for spring. We have retired from sheep farming for ourselves and now graze cattle for others. You may also be fighting the weather as march/April/May can be stormy and cold.it can be challenging but it does show your true grit :) however we never know how it will be as our weather is very changeable. When the spring comes so does the thaw and wet conditions. This usually only lasts a couple of weeks and into May is a beautiful time as everything starts to come alive! Trees bud overnight it seems, the geese return which is a sure sign winter is coming to an end, the frogs croak and WOW. Summer is here! Summer is keeping the place tidy and preparing for winter. Arenas to be raked with a yard tractor, lawns to be cut with a ride on, fields to be cut with rotary cutter, fencing to be checked and repaired. We have trees to be pruned and clear away.
    We also have a small dog boarding facility.
    There is lots do and learn, woodworking, welding, pasture management, animal husbandry, basically the way we live and why.


    Up for the challenge?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is so much to learn and enjoy if you are willing!

  • Help

    Help

    This is a hands on opportunity, so please do not turn up and not expect to get dirty here, working on a farm does that! Alan and i do not work off the farm, so are home all day. Because we all need somewhere to relax after a hard day, we appreciate any help, even when not asked for to keep the house clean and tidy and comfy for everyone. It would be nice to have another pair of hands . We have multiple jobs, tree felling to do, log splitting
    Help and instruction will be given. We work as a team so not left on your own to manage.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in the spare room which is very comfortable and have your own bathroom (may have to share with another workawayer), the use of the house. We have WiFi

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a rural location with no public transport. But with previous volunteers we have driven them to the local saltwater lake and resort on their days off and they have stayed in our cabin if vacant. We live a quiet life just enjoying our surroundings. My husband has just started to enjoy fishing when he can. He also likes to make and repair things in his workshop. We are very lucky to live doing what we wanted to do. We live a relaxed easy living life and we work as a team although we have our own interests too. We expect our volunteers to respect our home, to help out, show willing, use their initiative safely, ask questions and enjoy the experience. Alan and I love to share our activities and experiences and our love for our animals. We are also willing to teach everything we know to anyone interested.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 464683869584