Couple looking for help refurnishing the house in Lower Normandy, Cherbourg

Country

France

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi guys!

    We are Thierry and Eva, a couple living in the beautiful region of Normandy, in Cherbourg, France. I, Thierry, am a teacher in a maritime highschool, where Eva is the assistant director.
    Our son Fred and his girlfriend Delphine were abroad during 10 months, living as workawayers, they just came back from their trip and convinced us to become hosts.

    We just bought a house last summer (july 2016), and we are refurnishing it now. We are thus looking for an extra pair of hand for this summer, we would need some help with painting work, wallpapering, door refurnishing, some construction work... If you have some special skills, just don't hesitate to tell us ;)
    Added to this you would maybe be sometimes asked to help in the house, with some general maintenance.

    We will ask you to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, in exchange of food, accommodation and good conversations :) You will always have your week-ends off. And of course food is also provided during your days off!
    You would ideally start at 9 in the morning, we are used to eat at 12, you would thus end in the middle of the afternoon, which leaves you plenty of time to explore the city and the surroundings.
    In our jobs we are used to speak a little in english, but we are not fluent and would be glad to improve our level with you. We can also teach you some french if you want to :)

    You will have your own double bedroom, with shared bathroom and shared living-room, you will eat with us, and will be like a part of the family.
    If you have a car, you can easily park in front of the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The aim of being hosts on workaway is to get some help with our house by meeting new people traveling from all around the world. We would be glad to share our life and culture with you. Our son and Delphine really enjoyed their year workawaying in Scandinavia and UK, we would like you to be as enthusiastic as they were with their hosts.

  • Help

    Help

    Painting, wallpapering, door refurnishing, construction work, help in the house...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Medium English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own double bedroom with a double bed, a wardrobe, a desk and electric shutters for people needing a good dark room to sleep ;)
    You will share the bathroom and the living room with us.
    Concerning the kitchen, I (Thierry) will always cook, you will just have to sit at the table and eat with us :)

    The room is good for a single person or a couple.

    If you are smoker, please note that you can only smoke outside, not in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop at 100m from the house, you can then join the city center in 10min. You can there visit the Cité de la mer, a big aquarium, with the unique nuclear submarine visitable in the world! ().
    Near Cherbourg you can visit all the Cotentin peninsula (Barfleur, la Hague, île de Tatihou, Saint Vaast la Hougue with Les Tours Vauban, ...) with a lot of very nice walks.
    You can reach Caen in 1h30 and discover there different sites of the Normandy landings.
    In 2h30 you can be at the famous Mont Saint Michel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, week-ends off

It's us!
Our big house!
Thierry's Kitchen ;)
Our living room

Host ref number: 463318535853