Help to establish a woodland eco-system and with renovating a historic building in rural Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    24

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a really lovely and quiet rural idyll with my 2 friendly gundogs in the depths of rural Brittany some 4 km from the nearest village. Although very tranquil is is close to some of Britany's attractive areas of interest, Quimper, Rennes, Lorient (with the annual Celtic festivals each August) the pink granite coastline, the gulf of Moribahn and Lake Guerledan to name just a few.
    The house is an 18th century farmhouse with a separate self contained gite and stands in nearly 2 ha of land.
    No traffic, no industry, quiet open stretches of road, big sky days and big star nights.

    I am slowly regenerating the woodland and stream which have been neglected for long periods. The work involves clearing out deadwood and brash, felling trees, coppicing and hedge laying.
    I also need to cut back 60m of overgrown leylandii hedge.

    Am also wanting help in refurbishing the barn, lime mortar pointing and lime washing the walls as well as treating the oak beams to allow them to last another 200 years

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about woodland and stream management
    Learn about renovation of old (18 century) buildings,
    Improve French conversation
    Learn how the French rural economy works.

    The beauty of rural Brittany and its traditions (Breton Culture - music, dance, art)

  • Help

    Help

    Have a rural retreat in Brittany which has over hectare of woodland and pasture needing managing. Hedgerow work, coppicing, logging, grass cutting, clearing brook and renovating buildings with lime mortar and lime wash.
    Am wanting to establish a woodland ecosystem with small brook from overgrown hazel, willow, oak and ash scrubland, which has not been managed for decades. Results of all efforts would soon start to be seen.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained 2 bedroom gite, lounge, kitchen, bathroom, UK tv, Internet, swimming pool, very quiet rural setting some 4.5 km from nearest village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many points of interest with close proximity, including Lake Guerledan with a wide range of water sports,
    the beauty of the Pink Granite Coast with a wide range of water activities,
    the ancient towns of Quimper, Pontivy, Rennes, Moncontour and Lorient (annual Celtic festival every August)

    Paris is a 3 hour rail trip.
    Great local restaurants.
    Good wine, cider and cheeses
    Weekly village festivals and fest noz
    The famous weekly markets
    The area is great for cycling

    Although I could help with some transport, own transport of some form would be useful.

    I am new to this, so would be a l learning curve for me also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 462253536824