updated  

Join a creative couple, in an old Spanish farmhouse and help us care for our orange grove, in Gádor, Andalusia, Spain

  • Favourited 44 times
  • Last activity: 11 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    HI there :)
    My name is Noa and my husband Diego and I are looking for someone to help us out with our garden and little orange grove in the very south of Spain.

    Diego is Spanish and works from home as a translator. He speaks Spanish, English and French fluently and also understands some German.
    He loves the desert, literature, analog photography and exploring in nature

    I, Noa, am currently only at the cortijo on weekends, so you will mostly be interacting with diego
    _____

    Our property isn't very large but we do have some orange trees and other fruit trees that are in desperate need of care and watering. If you have any prior knowledge about this, that would be very much appreciated.
    One room in our house is rented out online, which means it is important that the common areas like the kitchen are kept very clean, so our guests can have a comfortable stay.

    We also have two dogs and a cat. They are not allowed inside the house and tend to stay outside.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer language exchange
    Diego also knows about how to bake his own sourdough bread and pizza and has a great wealth of knowledge about to local area and the desert

  • Help

    Help

    Currently we are looking for someone to help us mainly with work in the garden.
    Pruning trees, sweeping the terrace, weeding, clearing areas in the garden to be able to plant food, watering the orange groove (this includes several preparations, like clearing the waterway, that are hard labor, so please be aware). We also have a stone wall that could need repairing so if you know anything about that or are willing to figure out how we can fix it together, that would be great too.
    We might ask you on occasions to help with cleaning inside of the house or do general household tasks.
    .

    We would be expecting around 15 hours a week per person in exchange for the room. You would be responsible for your own food. We can host two people, if you are comfortable sharing a room

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    diego speaks spanish, english and french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your room is upstairs and has a single bed.
    The house has two bathrooms, one downstairs with a shower and washing machine, and one upstairs with a bathtub. All bathrooms are shared, although when there are guests, we prefer you use the upstairs bathroom.

    The rental-room is downstairs, as is the kitchen, living room, dining space and entrance hall.


    We do not have a working dishwasher so dishes have to be done by hand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a very quiet life, so being able to be alone and occupy yourself is a must.
    Most available activities kind of depend on yourself unless you want to take the bus into the city (from our house to Almeria city by public transport its about an hour). Close to the house, theres a lot of availability for hiking and exploring the desert (there is even an old ruin on top of the hill that our house is built into) as well as mountain biking. We own many books that you are welcome to, as well as my art supplies and if you are fond of dogs you are also very welcome to spend time with them if you wish. Canela is very smart and knows a lot of tricks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    please ask about this so we can talk about specifics. Cats are not possible to bring here since diego is allergic .

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week

Host ref number: 461387363129

Feedback (2)


Feedback



Volunteer in our one shell albergue on the Camino De Santiago, Spain
English native speaker welcome to help with the community kids in the North of Spain