Help with our home and garden on coast of Northern California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help us maintain our private older coastal home in need of some basic fixing up like painting and garden maintenance projects. If it's important to be near ocean and if you surf, this is an ideal location at the gorgeous Northern California coastline in Mendocino County. You will have complete independent living in your own space. We stay there part-time in separate quarters. Who we are: I work full time for an international nonprofit in San Francisco. You will be primarily helping my husband, who was a professional gardener and is now fixing up our home part-time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Workawayer will have the unique opportunity and plenty of time to enjoy and explore a vibrant coastal community on the North Coast of California known for its beauty and small town charm. Shop at the local co-op, coffee shops, local artists' galleries. We will introduce you to the best beaches and trails with miles of hiking along coastal bluffs right at our backdoor. A local lighthouse provides a spectacular view of the coastal landscape. We will share our knowledge of local flora and fauna, and help you map out your next adventures up and down the California coast.

    The Workawayer can enjoy learning basic landscaping skills from a master gardener, and help us with small building projects using local and recycled materials. We look forward to practicing and learning about other cultures and languages. We'd love to improve your conversational English while we improve our French and Spanish, if that's of interest.

  • Help

    Help

    General house and landscaping maintenance and renovation including painting, repairing, basic gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have complete independence with an entire upstairs private bedroom, plus bathroom and kitchen downstairs to cook your own meals. We provide simple basic furnishings and supplies. You will need to provide and cook your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Enjoy surfing, fishing, beautiful hiking and sunsets along coastline in small coastal town environment. The walkable small downtown includes a grocery co-op, library, bike path, historic theater and charming older buildings. Decent public transportation. We can accommodate parking for car, truck, or van. If you're also interested in a San Francisco urban excursion we can be a helpful resource.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good working internet. We can set up a desk area for you if desired.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate parking for car, truck, or van.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 459487714398