Enjoy Nairobi, Kenya helping a Japanese family with childcare



Favourited 116 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi there !
    We need some help for child care - we have four children.
    11 years-old boy, 7 years-old boy, 5 years-old boy and 3 years-old girl !
    They like having fun, it's like a kindergarten everyday in our house !

    We are a Japanese family living in Kenya.
    I am the mother, I like foreign people.
    My husband is interested in cultural exchange.

    We all speak english.
    Native english speaker would be preferred, because we'd like to brush up our english.
    We can accommodate from one to three people (in case of family).
    If you bring your child, she/he will be a good friend of ours.

    We have a housekeeper, so you don't need to do house chores.
    We are happy to have you for cultural exchange, language practice and child care.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can have a real Japanese life style, (tatami, japanese food, video game, manga...)
    You can learn natural Japanese language by living and playing with our children.
    You can learn Japanese culture by living with us.

    You can visit Nairobi city that is now growing remarkably.
    You can visit national museum, giraffe center, elephant orphanage, Nairobi national park...
    Maybe you can have a opportunity to visit a slam if you are interested.

    In your holidays, you can visit some national park to do safari in Kenya.
    If you like, we can try to organise a trip together! ( even though It depends on school holidays of my children)

    You can learn Swahili language in the city or by talking with our housekeeper.
    There is a language center to learn swahili and other languages near my house, 15 mn by taxi or uber.

  • Help


    We are happy to have you for cultural exchange, language practice and child care.

    We'd like to have conversation about you, your family, your country, etc.
    If you can bring some pictures to show to us, it would be great !

    We would be happy to have english language lesson individually, to brush up our pronunciation and expression.

    Volunteer time would be when our children are around, normally from 16 to 20 (evening).
    You can visit Nairobi city during daytime and weekend.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    a guest room with shower and toilet.
    We have two beds and a futon mat.

    food is provided. ( Japanese or sometimes kenyan)
    We cook only dinner weekdays. You can cook breakfast and lunch by yourself.

    We cook lunch and dinner weekend.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Nairobi, our location is convenient to visit everywhere in Nairobi.
    5mn to a shopping mall, 15min to CBD, 30mn to Giraffe center, 40mn to elephant orphanage.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our apartment
Our compound
Elephant orphanage
Girafe centre
Traditional costume

Host ref number: 458831555824