Help on our family farm in the Karoo near Phillipstown, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/02/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm has been in the family for 7 generations with Josef (24) currently working on the farm. It is situated in the middle of the Karoo. It's no tropical paradise, but it rather has a different beauty to it. The homestead on the other hand is an oasis in the middle of semi-desert.

    The family farms with sheep for their wool. They also own a few small businesses in the closest town called Phillipstown. The community is fairly poor and the family has made it part of their legacy to uplift the town.

    Apart from that, they also have six cows that they have to supply milk for the lambs that has been rejected by their mothers, something that sometimes happens when they are going through a drought. They also sell some of the milk and use it to make butter and cheese for the house.

    They have some wildlife, like springbuck, warthogs, spring hare and more. They also have horses on the farm which they use to herd the sheep and check if the animals have enough food and water.

    Josef's parents, Andries and Kay, stay on a homestead on the farm as well. Andries will tell you everything you need to know about the Karoo and Kay is an artist.

    Apart from the people and animals, the farm also has some rock engravings that you can come explore for yourself.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Karoo is an agricultural area with a diverse variety of South African cultures, like the Koi-san, Afrikaners, Xhosa and Sotho.

    You will be exposed to different traditions and lifestyles of these cultural groups. The community is a very tight-knit community, and you will meet different kinds of people.

    The family is very adventurous and you will be doing things like hiking, horseback riding and camping.

    You will learn a lot about sheep farming and the industry, caring and nuturing of animals and some people and business skills along the way.

    The Karoo is a very interesting place, it's hard to put what it offers in words, it's something that you have to experience on your own.

  • Help

    Help

    It is always lambing season, thus we would like you to help with feeding the ewes, making their environment comfortable and feeding some of the little lambs.

    There are also calves who would be very greatful if you feed them too.

    Help will also be needed in the Dairy with making butter, cheese and help with the milking of cows.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Afrikaans, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying on the homestead. The house has many rooms that has been made suitable for accommodation of guests as it was previously used as a guesthouse.

    You will share a communal kitchen that is fully equipped.
    There is electricity and hot running water on the farm and in most cases you will have your own room with en en suit bathroom. Depending on how many applications we have, you might have to share a room.
    The basic ingredients of all meals will be provided.

    There is wifi available on the farm and MTN signal.

    You will also have the freedom of the whole farm to explore in your off time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be responsible for your own transport from the airport to the farm. We will help you with the arrangements and pick you up at the closes accessible point to us.

    In your off time you can hike on the farm, swim (in season), go for horseback riding ect.

    The Van der Kloof dam is about half an hour's drive from the farm and is a nice day trip or camping experience on the river bank.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 457174776767