Join our project and help with forestry, building, and repairs in Rønne, Bornholm, Denmark

  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 27 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    This is a country property with 5 hectares of agricultural and marginal land. Here nine ewes and their offspring and a varying number of hens graze the beautiful rocky and lake area.
    The house is old and in constant need of repairs and maintenance.

    Kajsa (20) (student) and Sys (73) (former nurse and public health worker) and Kalle (labradoodle) and Carlo (ratkiller) are the permanent residents here. But the work with sheep, chickens and other work is shared by the family who live elsewhere on Bornholm.

    We would like to have 3-4 workawayers for the last 14 days in June to help with various practical work outdoors (mostly) and indoors.

    Bornholm is an island in the Baltic Sea, with a diverse and peaceful nature. From the soft landscape with wonderful beaches in the south to the hilly landscape and rough cliffs in the north.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an open minded family with an interest in what you can teach us about the culture you come from. And hopefully you can learn something from our culture and lifestyle.

    Here you will find skills and knowledge in crafts, gardening, cooking, health, and interests in music and literature.

  • Help

    Help

    The help will consist of:
    Repairing and setting up new enclosures for the sheep.
    Tree felling, firewood sawing and scrub clearing.
    Repairing the house in- and outside.
    Gardening.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can live in the house where You can have your own room or You can share with another workawayer. Alternatively you can live in a hut on the site or in a tent, if You prefer that.
    In our family, we focus on living sustainably. Our food is as far as possible organically and locally produced.

    You have access to bath and kitchen facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At Bornholm you can explore our fine and varied nature. You can experience cultural events in music and theater. There is also a wealth of artisans in ceramics, glass art, painting and woodwork.

    We live near Rønne, the largest city on Bornholm.
    There are good bus links to the whole island, and good bike paths. It will sometimes be possible to borrow a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 455828597853

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join us on our farm with a small organic garden and spiritual workshop in the countryside, Jutland, Denmark
Family-owned farm with a permaculture project looking for helpers in Aabenraa, Denmark