House-sit and care for our beloved rescue pets and feed stray cats in Amorgos, Greece



Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Pet and housesitting for around 2 and a half months for July and August 2022 and till mid or end of Sept depending on start of stay . Dates negotiable.Eg beg/ mid July onwards.Preferably from beginning of July.PLUS feeding and caring for feral cats,involving very early start 5a.m.

    I m from the UK,married to a Greek.I m 59 and my husband is 45 and we live a quiet life.I am an ex Eng language teacher though still do part time seasonal exams work for Cambridge ESOL.My husband is a handyman,does all DIY and painting jobs and is a beekeeper as well. I have spent almost 30 years here and been voluntarily feeding stray cat colonies and helping rescue dogs and finding good homes for them abroad. I' ve also cooperated with the local animal welfare organisation and help from time to time with some of their spaying and neutering projects and with walking their rescued dogs. The island is really beautiful and very special but animals are neglected and considered mostly a nuisance or a pest,though things are definitely improving.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The island is pretty unspoilt and the main village is picturesque and a typical example of traditional Cycladic architecture and offers a simple way of life.It offers the chance to experience how local islanders and agriculture being the main livelihood after tourism during the high season. You can even learn local Greek island dancing or attend other events such as how to make local dishes.These take place outdoors in summer. The locals still support traditions strongly. The island has a network of mountain paths which makes it ideal for nature lovers.Small natural beaches are dotted all over the island, some only accessible on foot for those who prefer privacy and being away from the crowds.

  • Help


    Taking care of and walking our 5 yr old dog and feediing him and our 3 house cats whilst housesitting and doing the feeding rounds of the street cat colonies at various spots around the island. Several years experience with house and pet sitting essential and preferably only mature responsible couples or individuals with a genuine love for dogs and cats should apply.Some knowledge of basic vet care would be an advantage but not essential. Experience of voluntary work in animal shelters or stray cats and dog rescue also a major advantage. Must be able to drive as our house is situated on a hill top overlooking the bay so a driving license is essential .Also should be capable of getting up very early as the round for feeding the strays takes place around 5,30 a.m and takes about 1 hour from start to finish .Please note that 1 morning a week it has to be done at 4.15 a.m so involves a 4a.m start . But it is only once a day and you can just go back to bed as there are no duties to be carried out after that till walking the dog around 8.30/ 9a.m. This post is probably more suited to a couple who could share the early morning round. Petsitting involves giving pills to our dog 2 times a day at certain hours (he is a healthy boy but with Thyroid issues ) and ensuring he gets enough exercise. He is an easy and lazy friendly dog.The volunteer would also have to cook for the dog a couple of times a week,rice and chicken liver fancy Gourmet cooking .The cats have their specific habits but are very easy especially as they sleep at least 16 hrs a day in summer.We have a 2 bedroom house and offer the use of a car and we can provide basic provisions and arrange for extra groceries to be delivered. All cat and dog food supplies are provided of course and it may be necessary to pick up supplies from the local boat every now and again as I feed over 150 strays and order food supplies regularly.I would prefer English speaking applicants,preferably over the age of 40 . My husband and I would be away for around 2 and a half months ,July and August and till mid or even late September. We live on a beautiful small Greek island ,off the beaten track with few amenities but regular ferry connections. Suitable applicants should be serious about pet and house-sitting in that order and respect our home and keep it clean. They should definitely be keen to help with caring for the feral cats too. We offer free internet but it can be unreliable 1 or 2 times a month. The island is hikers' paradise and quite rural,though there are cafes and restaurants and minimarkets,2 pharmacies,a bank and 3 ATMs,a small health centre but with few facilities.As we are 9 hours away from Athens by ship,it isn't ideal for those with health issues.There are 2 doctors on the island and medical facilities on the neighbouring island of Naxos 3 hrs away and a daily connection.Should 1 of our animals require emergency treatment there is a vet clinic on the neighbouring island of Naxos and now we have a new young vet on the island though his practice isn't fully equipped. He is willing to help of course but again for something more serious,it is better to travel to the nearest island where there is a more equipped vet clinic..We would cover expenses of travel to and from the vet in this case and therefore we need to stress that volunteers should be willing to do that as it constitutes part of the 'care'.
    Amorgos,where we live,is a tiny island with a population of 1600 inhabitants but this trebles in high season.We prefer it during the other 9 or 10 months of the year.I am British and can't cope with the heat which is why we head back to England in high season.We do have Air con in the living room,kitchen and main bedroom but not in the 2nd bedroom. For further details please contact us .

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A modern detached house on the hilltop ,with a million dollar view (without any obstruction) of the main port. There are 2 bedrooms but we would prefer to offer the use of the guest bedroom only if possible so it is more suitable for a couple as it has a double bed. 2 friends could share if willing to share the bed. The guest room has its own WC and shower (ensuite) . A comfortable living room and kitchen are available and there is a lot of outdoor space and a large terrace where you can enjoy your mornjng coffee or a beer or a glass of wine and an amazing sunset. As we will not be here except for the first week of your stay at the most,we can offer food and drink all day for the time we re all in the house together.During our absence,we usually leave many basic provisions of pasta,rice,household goods and bottled water,tea,coffee and some cold drinks and a stocked fridge and we can arrange for someone to deliver some other provisions and groceries once every 10 days but you would have to cook for yourselves.I feed all the strays out of my own pocket..I work hard to earn enough to cover the cost of feeding them and of their medical care. I spend way beyond my means to feed so many hungry mouths and provide medical care costs for them. I cannot afford to provide luxury foodstuffs but the Workawayers who have stayed before were very satisfied .It is a very costly affair feeding so many stray cats and I do this independently of any animal welfare organisation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses that connect the ports (there are 2) with the other villages and there is a frequent service in summer.However we live off a dirt track road outside the port,about 5 min drive and therefore the use of a car will be available (I cover the petrol costs for doing the feeding of the stray cat colonies and for getting supplies from the port ONLY).There are several car and motorbike rental businesses around the island should you wish to explore it further .There are yoga classes available on the island and plenty of paths for walkers ..for those who like to keep fit. Lazing on the terrace with a book or having an early morning dip in the sea is just as refreshing and relaxing.We stress no parties and prefer NON smokers please.Smoking would be ok if outside only.Our neighbours are at the bottom of the hill and run Air b and b and would not appreciate loud music. We prefer quiet applicants who respect the house rules and who limit alcohol consumption to normal quantities. Please bear in mind that the house stands by itself outside the residential area and there are no street lamps in the last part of the road up the hill leading to it so if you decide to walk home,you need a torch.There are lights outside the house though of course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    As this is a pet sitting post,there is a daily basic time to devote to dog walking and feeding our pets. However including all the street cat feeding rounds the work is for 3 hrs a day ( 5 days a week ) 1 hour at dawn , an hour in total per day for our ho

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 452893429563